New widget: Font dialog-box!

Find out what's going on with LiveCode (the company), product releases, announcements, and events.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

New widget: Font dialog-box!

Post by ale870 » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:09 am

Hello again!

Did you spend a nice week-end? I hope so!
I created a new widget: It is dialog-box to allow font selection. Font preview is included! See this nice screenshot:

Image

It is very simple, but can save you some hours of work :-)
It is a self-contained group, that you can use simply by copy/paste the group in your stacks!

Visit my site to get more information, and to download this new widget for free (don't forget that every widget is free, free like a free beer! Use it in you commercial and non-commercial projects!).

You can visit RunRev Widgets at:
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki/tiki-view ... p?blogId=1
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5132
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: New widget: Font dialog-box!

Post by Mark » Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:45 pm

Hi Ale,

Thanks for the widget. Looks nice. It would be cool if I could use it to view the content of any font file on my hard disk, rather than just those installed.

Best,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

ale870
Posts: 250
Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:17 am
Contact:

Re: New widget: Font dialog-box!

Post by ale870 » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:18 pm

Thank you for your feedback, I will investigate more.
Currently I can say the solution for your proposal is not so easy, since Windows uses system fonts, and RunRev uses installed fonts to use them.
I think we could find a way like this:
1) user select a font from a custom-directory
2) we install that font so we can use it.
3) the user can decide if maintain the font or remove it.
Runtime Revolution Widgets, tutorials, tips & tricks and more!
http://runrevwidgets.com/wiki

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 257
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: New widget: Font dialog-box!

Post by thatkeith » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:37 pm

Alternatively...
ale870 wrote:1) user select a font from a custom-directory
2) we install that font so we can use it.
3) Set some sample text in that font and capture it as a graphic
4) Uninstall the font, leaving the graphic image of the font on display

Untried, don't know if there would be any 'gotchas' with this approach - but it seems straight-forward to me.

k
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”