LiveCode Multi-Search

Find out what's going on with LiveCode (the company), product releases, announcements, and events.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Sun Sep 16, 2018 6:15 pm

AndyP wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 4:09 pm
I use this exclusively as a standalone on Win 10 .. just build for your platform.
Huh, when I attempted the build here (LMDE2), nothing apparently happened. Go figure, I'll give it another *shot.

Sorry, no experience with tsnet (never had a use for it) or the browser widget here (I did mention I rarely use the later IDEs, right? :D )

* Tried all the standalone settings I could think of, even the ones I guess were left in it from when you built it, and couldn't get it to build for anything. The IDE was 8.1.4, will try switching up to a higher one in a vm.

*Edit - forgot, can't get past the sign up for an account thing on linux with 9.x :roll:

*Edit 2 - built it from Windows 10 with Lc 9 for 'nix, but no love, just displays a blank browser widget on 'nix :roll:
Image

AndyP
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by AndyP » Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:32 pm

Ok, the problem is probably this.

In the 9 series release notes under Known Issues.

Item 2 : The browser widget does not work on 32-bit Linux !!!!!!

So we need a fix timescale for this from HQ.
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Sun Sep 16, 2018 9:57 pm

Well, I built it for 64 bit 'nix, if that makes any difference :D

Here is what I don't get. I can open it in 8.1.4 in the IDE, and run it that way with no issue, but can't build it from there. Screwy eh wot?

Ps. never mind, can't build anything else from 8.1.4 either :roll:

Pss - wow, can't build anything all the way back to 8.0.1! And people wonder why I use the older IDEs so much :roll: :roll:

Psss - while I'm throwing extras here, how about searching the bug db ? I did a search for issues building 'nix standalones, and came up with a few but not many and none reading like this is going.
Image

ClipArtGuy
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:29 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by ClipArtGuy » Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:29 pm

AndyP wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 7:32 pm

Item 2 : The browser widget does not work on 32-bit Linux !!!!!!
I've never seen the browser widget working on 64-bit linux in any of the 9.x.x series either. A browser widget will throw an error as soon as being dragged onto a new stack.

When I open the multi-search stack, I get these errors:
Screenshot from 2018-09-16 17-11-49.png

I can see the stack, but all the browser widgets appear as unassigned non-working browser widgets even in browser mode:
Screenshot from 2018-09-16 17-19-53.jpg
The screenshots are in 9.0.1 RC2, but the errors are present in any project with a browser widget, all the way up to and including the most recent GM release....

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Sun Sep 16, 2018 11:05 pm

ClipArtGuy wrote:
Sun Sep 16, 2018 10:29 pm
I've never seen the browser widget working on 64-bit linux in any of the 9.x.x series either. A browser widget will throw an error as soon as being dragged onto a new stack.
Well, I've never gotten any of the 9.x series IDEs to get past the sign up screen, so you are one up on me :P

In the IDE on 'nix, I can get the stack working all the way back to 8.1.2 with this one error, which doesn't stop the stack from loading (8.0.1 says it is a newer version),
Selection_005.png
8.1.2...
Image

AndyP
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by AndyP » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:13 am

Ok, so the spinner widget was introduced in V9.xx series, and is NOT compatible with V8.xx series!

Can you try this version? It was created in LC 8.1.3 Community.

http://2108.on-rev.com/nextcloud/index. ... KrQ3KXRttj

I have removed the spinner widget and commented out associated code.

LC V8.xx uses an older version of the Chrome browser widget so you may get warnings from GitHub that the browser version is not supported ... just ignore.
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:16 pm

Done, no issue / no error .
AndyP wrote:
Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:13 am
the spinner widget was introduced in V9.xx series, and is NOT compatible with V8.xx series!
Hum. I think at least some (most) of the 8.xx series is compatible, 8.1.4 threw no error for the spinner. I didn't test 8.1.3, but it is on my list, and of course 8.0.1 complains that the file is in a newer format :D
Image

Lagi Pittas
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 312
Joined: Mon Jun 10, 2013 1:32 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by Lagi Pittas » Mon Sep 17, 2018 2:39 pm

Hi,

Brilliant stuff Andy , thanks for that.

I would suggest another resource which is basically a labour of love (can't be anything else).

It is Scott McDonald's site where he categorises and lists (most?) of the livecode lessons on 1 page.
So much easier to navigate

http://livecodesupersite.com/

I would put just a link to that pagemaybe not index it as it will point to the same search results - unless you do a de-dupe of the URLs.

This gets you the lessons without any searching - no fuss no muss when all you are trying to do are "the standard stuff" - and not looking up problems and errors.

Regards Lagi

AndyP
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by AndyP » Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:53 pm

Good to hear all is now ok.

LiveCode Share has now been updated with this version V1.0.3

The Supersite is indeed Super!

I think what I will do is add a drop-down menu for links to sites that do not have a search facility.

Keep the resource site ideas coming!
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:14 pm

AndyP wrote:
Mon Sep 17, 2018 4:53 pm
Good to hear all is now ok.
After a bit of trimbling around, it is even better than that. I actually got it to compile to a standalone for 'nix :roll:

To do it, I had to do a minimal install of 'buntu in a vm, then the IDE, then I downloaded your 8.xx vers. stack, compiled it, and uploaded that to storage so I could dl it to my dev machine. Of the debian derivatives, 'buntu was the only one I got the later IDE to run on correctly (go figure).

I actually find this turn of events slightly disheartening, but at least the search works like a charm
Image
Image


jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4702
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by jacque » Mon Sep 17, 2018 8:54 pm

I made a few edits to the Search button so that multi-word terms work in most places. I'll send it in PM and you can do what you want, or nothing, with it.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

bogs
Posts: 2377
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by bogs » Mon Sep 17, 2018 9:36 pm

I wonder, is there a way to copy/paste from the other tab panes? For instance, on the Lc Forum tab, I was able to highlight / ctrl + c / ctrl + v and see the pasted content with no issue, but after doing that one time, it didn't work again the next time, it just kept pasting the initial copy, even after shutting down or switching tabs.
Image

AndyP
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by AndyP » Tue Sep 18, 2018 2:24 pm

Thanks, Jacque. Works great! 8)

I'll be putting a new version up on LC Share later today 1.0.4

This will include your changes and a dropdown for other resource sites.
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

AndyP
Posts: 384
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:57 pm
Location: Seeheim, Germany (ex UK)
Contact:

Re: LiveCode Multi-Search

Post by AndyP » Sat Sep 22, 2018 11:57 am

Ok, so I was belatedly starting on the Extra links dropdown and came across an unexpected problem.

It seems that dropdowns, popups etc do not like the "/" character appearing twice and stips out the second "/" and following text from the menu items list.

So putting "https://livecode.com/resources/cheat-sheets/" as a menu item results in "https:/livecode.com" being displayed as a menu item.

Can someone please try this to confirm this as a bug which I can report.

Same results on 8.14 and 9.01
Andy Piddock

http://2108.co.uk/tinyide/ - TinyIDE gives you more space to develop your ideas

http://2108.co.uk/script-editor-themer/ Script Editor Themer - Your code has never looked so good

My software never has bugs. It just develops random features

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”