What Livecode can create????

Find out what's going on with LiveCode (the company), product releases, announcements, and events.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

keith.blackhamBUSJhtN

What Livecode can create????

Post by keith.blackhamBUSJhtN » Fri Aug 17, 2012 4:51 pm

Hi all I am very new to livecode and wanted to ask this before I decide to make my purchase for a license, I was wondering if I would be able to build very large complex programs with Livecode I mean applications simular to paintshop pro and photo shop or is there any limit to what can be built? I am very interested in Livecode as I think it would be a faster way to build applications without having to go into too much detail when writing code so I would be very happy if someone could answer my question regarding what applications I can create, I look forward to hearing very soon from you guys on here. thanks

Keith :D

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: What Livecode can create????

Post by Mark » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:05 pm

Hi,

There isn't a real limit, but if you want to make software like Photoshop, Paintshop or e.g. a 3D first-person shooter, then you're going to need externals written in c++ or objective-c. The problem is that LiveCode talks to a limited set of API's. If you're going to invest in such a huge project, why not hire a programmer and have it all written in a language that talks to API's directly?

Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

keith.blackhamBUSJhtN

Post by keith.blackhamBUSJhtN » Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:38 pm

Hi Mark,