Dropbox Livecode Library

Find out what's going on with LiveCode (the company), product releases, announcements, and events.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:20 pm

Hi Richard,

the executable which is created with 7.04 fails. While the exe created with 7.03 is working correct.

All settings are correct and exactly the same, also the library is added, same as in 7.03. I double checked.

But you don't notice while working in 7.04 because then it is working as it should, it is only happening when you execute the created exe.

Then it is not connecting to dropbox.
Thanks.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9802
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:24 pm

To find out where it's failing you can add an error reporting dialog to your app in the Standalone Builder (really should be on by default, IMO). That info may tell you all you need to know to resolve the problem, which may be as simple as a library or external not included.
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:27 pm

ok i will try and see what comes up.

But i'm convinced it is added, or it must be so the lc7.04 forgets to actually add it.

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Sat Apr 25, 2015 7:43 pm

this is a piece of the stack script

Code: Select all

 if there is not a stack "phxDropboxLib" then
      put GetPathToFile("phxDropboxLib.livecode") into phxLib
      start using stack phxLib
   else if "phxDropboxLib" is not among the lines of the stacksinuse then
      start using stack "phxDropboxLib"
   end if
   --
   if "phxDropboxLib" is not among the lines of the stacksinuse then
      answer error "Unable to load phxDropboxLib"
      quit
   end if
   
    # connect to Dropbox

constant myAppKey = "blablabla"
constant myAppSec = "blablabla"
constant myTokKey = "blablabla"
constant myTokSec = "blablabla"
    
   --now i'm getting these answers which are here below, so it seems the library is not loaded
   
  put empty into field "flAnswer" of card 1
   if not phx_DropboxAvailable() then
      answer "Dropbox HTTPS connection NOT available"
      #wait 30 sec
      answer "Please check Internet connection and restart program"
   end if
as you see i added a line from where i get a message that there is no connection available.

So in 7.03 i'm using the exact same stack and all Setting to save as standalone are exactly the same.

So in my opinion it can't be that the fault is in the scripts i use but in lc7.04, because it is working while saved with 7.03

also the bug report does not come up with any bug

So actually the question is: Is this due to LC7.04 or does the library need to be updated to work with LC7.04 ?

Thanks

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Simon » Sat Apr 25, 2015 11:01 pm

Hi sphere,
Which version of Guglielmo's dropbox library are you using?

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Mikey » Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:33 am

By the way, 1.09 is the latest version, but any of the versions should work. I don't recall any of the versions changing anything that would possibly cause this behavior.

On the machine running your project, with the dropbox library open, please execute the following from the message box, and let me know what you get back.
put URL "https://api.dropbox.com/1/"
You should get
{"error": "Not Found"}.

This is the code that phx_dropboxAvailable() is executing.

There is an issue on Windows with all versions of the library, if IE is the default browser. LC seems to use the default browser for submitting http and https requests, because the only time this issue pops up is on Windows when IE is set as the default browser. Every other browser EXCEPT for IE responds with {"error": "Not Found"}. phx_dropboxAvailable() uses that response to know that it is actually connected to dropbox. However, if you send https://api.dropbox.com/1/ to IE (or call it from LC when IE is the default browser), the response is a "This page can't be displayed" page (in LC, you get a blank, if I remember correctly, which is exactly what you would get if the library could not get a connection to dropbox.

I have not gotten around to dealing with this issue, but if this is the issue you are encountering, then this would be a good time to figure out what to do, OR, you should change you default browser to something besides IE (I haven't tested it with Spartan in Win 10, yet)

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Simon » Sun Apr 26, 2015 12:45 am

After playing around with it some I found that revsecurity.dll was not being copied to the Test Dropbox.exe folder.
Manually select "Select inclusions for standalone applications" and select Browser, Internet and SSL & Encryption. The "Search for..." wasn't including revsecurity.dll.

I wonder if it gets left out because the only call to https is in the library not the main stack?

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:03 pm

hi Simon and Mikey,
thank you both for your respond.

the rtf file with the library says 1.07 but the library itself 1.08, so must be 1.08 (never looked at the version before actually...)

If i do that command via the message box then it is responding as you said.
I have Firefox as standard webbrowser at home, but at my job (were i spend some time on Livecode when workload permits me to do) there we have IE as standard webbrowser.

But luckely i have never had a blank and it worked correct anytime.

I will download 1.09 and see if that makes a difference.
***edit - The link on the first page of this thread only downloads the 1.08 version, does anyone have the link to the latest version?

Thanks!

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Mikey » Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:21 pm

It is possible that Gugliermo never released it. Email me and I'll send it to you.
mikeKerner@RMKCo.com

1.09 adds changes for dealing with filenames that have characters that must be escaped in http (e.g. if a filename is "4/26/15 employees", the slashes and the space have to be escaped, and it adds some blank event handlers for cases where the library is added as a substack but the mainstack is trying to do things when you open the library as the developer.

So on your work machine that uses IE, when you execute the line I sent you from the message box, you get the error message back? Is that the machine running the library?

I'll take a look at 7.04 on Windows, later and see what I can find.

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Sun Apr 26, 2015 1:35 pm

@Mikey I can test it Tuesday on my work, because Monday the whole country has a day off due to Kingsday :D .

So at the moment i'm testing at home.
I've put IE as default now and send the line again via the messagebox, but i get the same result : {"error": "Not Found"}

@Simon i can confirm that 7.04 is forgetting to add the revsecurity.dll when you let it search for it. But indeed it is copied when selected Manually.

wprothero
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2011 4:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by wprothero » Thu May 07, 2015 5:10 pm

Guglielmo:
The link to the zip file for the dropbox lib is non-functional. Do you have another one?
Thanks for the contribution!
Bill

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Thu May 07, 2015 9:37 pm

Hello,

Dropbox announced a new API / API-changes.
Will this influence the current API or the Library ?

Does anybody have any knowledge about this?

Thanks a lot !

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Mikey » Thu May 07, 2015 9:38 pm

Yes, and yes, and we have a year.

sphere
Posts: 1145
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: Earth, Except when i Jump

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by sphere » Thu May 07, 2015 10:05 pm

Great !
No worries for the coming year :D

Mikey
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 755
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 9:00 pm

Re: Dropbox Livecode Library

Post by Mikey » Sat May 16, 2015 9:15 pm

Another look through the new API's (they're still in beta), suggests that the library is safe as-is. We'll see what other changes might be proposed to the API.

Post Reply

Return to “Announcements”