Suggestion: format y-Axis Display Values

Get help and support using chartsEngine for LiveCode.

Moderators: heatherlaine, BvG

Post Reply
andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Suggestion: format y-Axis Display Values

Post by andyh1234 » Mon Feb 23, 2009 1:21 pm

Hi Malte,

Just a suggestion, it would be good if there was a flag we could set to format the Y axis values, like you can do with the X axis.

We have a chart that is drawing and its putting up values like 438.24 in the y axis. Its possible these items are in the data as its generated from a database, but for the display of the y axis it would be good if we could simply format the text, in this case to apply rounding etc just to keep it neat.

If they are in the data I guess I could add a script to pre-analyze the data returned from the database, but it would be neat if it was an option in the chart control.

Just an idea!

Thanks

Andy

malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Post by malte » Mon Feb 23, 2009 9:17 pm

hi andy,

for rounding you can set the charts["gridYNumberFormat"] this is compatible with revolutions numberformat property. If converting for the y-labels is desired, that one should be rather trivial to implement. I will put that on todo for 1.1. I am still collecting things that I want to improve in that version, so it will be a couple of days before I start working on it. If you have more suggestions, please keep them coming!

All the best,

malte

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Post by andyh1234 » Tue Feb 24, 2009 2:01 am

Thanks Malte!

Andy

malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Post by malte » Thu May 07, 2009 11:14 am

Done in 1.0.4

Post Reply

Return to “chartsEngine”