Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Get help and support using chartsEngine for LiveCode.

Moderators: heatherlaine, BvG

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by andyh1234 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 3:53 pm

Hi,

Do all the features of Charts Engine still work with Livecode 5.5?

I have just opened an app in 5.5 which uses the engine, and worked before, but now fails when trying to load the engine with an error, saying the error is unknown as the script is password protected.

The demo still seems to work, so I'm wondering what this could possibly be.

Thanks

Andy

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by andyh1234 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 4:12 pm

Just a quick update, this is actually very easy to replicate.

If you create a brand new stack, then save it.

Now, go to the standalone application settings, click on the stacks tab, then 'add stack file' and select the charts engine stack.

The IDE displays an immediate error 'There was an error executing a script in stack chartsEngine. No more information is available because the stack is password protected."

Any ideas?

CALL-151
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:00 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by CALL-151 » Sat Mar 31, 2012 7:56 pm

Confirmed. I'm having the same problem with a stack that has no issues in LC 5.0.2 but generates the same error message in 5.5.0 (GM3).

CALL-151
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:00 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by CALL-151 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 2:41 am

According to Björnke, LC 5.5 uses a new reserved word that breaks Charts Engine. A fix is on the way.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4564
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by jacque » Sun Apr 01, 2012 7:50 pm

What's the new reserved word?
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

CALL-151
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:00 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by CALL-151 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 10:47 pm

"padding"

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by andyh1234 » Sun Apr 01, 2012 11:00 pm

Great news, at least a fix is on the way and we don't need to look for a new chart control, charts engine has been good.

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by andyh1234 » Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:23 am

Any updates to this yet? Id love to be able to use charts engine with 5.5!

JosepM
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by JosepM » Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:17 am

Hi,

Any new about the fix?

Salut,
Josep M

CALL-151
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2010 11:00 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by CALL-151 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 7:48 pm

I sent him an email query over a week ago- no reply yet.

andyh1234
Posts: 376
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2007 4:44 pm
Location: Sale UK / FL USA
Contact:

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by andyh1234 » Tue Apr 24, 2012 9:48 pm

Its all very quiet!

JosepM
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by JosepM » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:11 pm

Since Fri Feb 03 any post for BvG... maybe Malte know something...

Salut,
Josep M

shaosean
Posts: 907
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:53 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by shaosean » Tue Apr 24, 2012 10:18 pm

I had tried to connect to the ChatRev server the other day and was not able to.. I believe he runs it from his place so maybe there is an issue with his internet connection?

JosepM
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 338
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by JosepM » Wed Apr 25, 2012 12:21 am

Yes, I was trying today without success...

Salut,
Josep M

shaosean
Posts: 907
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:53 am

Re: Charts Engine and Livecode 5.5

Post by shaosean » Wed Apr 25, 2012 1:07 am

Just checked and he is not listed as being arrested as part of Anonymous ;)

Locked

Return to “chartsEngine”