Coming from C++ and RealBasic

Want to move your code and projects to LiveCode but don't know where to start?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, robinmiller

Ernest

Coming from C++ and RealBasic

Post by Ernest » Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:35 pm

I'm new to Revolution and want to share some thoughts. I'm coming from a 24 year background in C/C++ in my job and a bit of experience playing around with RealBasic on the Mac. I just want to share one thing and ask a question:

Coming from RealBasic, I want to suggest that the UI be upgraded to be at least as sweet as RealBasic's. The Revolution UI looks amateurish to me.

Coming from C/C++, where are the elements for creating data structures? The only thing I've seen is basic variables and arrays. I guess I could create something like a structure using an array. Or maybe I just don't have the Revolution way of thinking in my head yet. But it's weird to me not to have something here that is so basic to me in my other programming endeavors.

To finish, I want to say how much I am enjoying Revolution despite the things I said above. I wrote a simple app that I had written in RealBasic and it was SO much easier and faster to do in Rev!

Thanks,

Ernest

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Coming from C++ and RealBasic

Post by mwieder » Sun Jan 03, 2010 4:50 am

The Revolution UI looks amateurish to me.
Haha. Well, a lot of us would agree... have you looked into tRev (a revSelect product)?

"Arrays" in rev are what would be called hashes or associative arrays in C++ or other languages. It's only over the last year that we've gotten "real" arrays with numeric keys. They're much more powerful than standard arrays and serve the purpose for me as structs and user-defined types. You *do* have to think about them differently in order to get a grasp of the process, but once you're over that learning curve it's pretty simple.

mhoneywill

Post by mhoneywill » Sun Feb 20, 2011 6:31 pm

Hi,