LC 8 Object Inspectors

Want to move your code and projects to LiveCode but don't know where to start?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller

Post Reply
jcasler
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:36 pm

LC 8 Object Inspectors

Post by jcasler » Tue Mar 01, 2016 8:57 pm

I just downloaded LC8 DP15 to start understanding the IDE in 8. I am trying to build some simple stacks from scratch just to see how the IDE differs (if at all) One of the things I tried is to drag a data grid to the card and inspect it. My next step would be to paste in tab delimited text as content but I can't seem to find a "Content" tab or field anywhere in the inspector. The other objects (fields, tables, etc) have a "Content" field on the "Basic Tab" you can paste into(1 line showing isn't great, however)The datagrid inspector doesn't seem to have this.

I assume this is just a user misunderstanding on my part but I would be grateful if someone can point me to how to do this.

Jay+

quailcreek
Posts: 720
Joined: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: McKenna, WA

Re: LC 8 Object Inspectors

Post by quailcreek » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:22 pm

Hi Jay,
LC 8, as you know, is still in development. I reported the missing items in the PI to LC QC awhile ago. See the link below.


http://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=16748
Tom
MacBook Pro OS Mojave 10.14

Klaus
Posts: 10330
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: LC 8 Object Inspectors

Post by Klaus » Tue Mar 01, 2016 10:25 pm

Hi Jay,

1. welcome to the forum! :D

2. The LC inspector in LC 8 is still simply missing any settings for datagrids!
So it is not your fault. :D

You could create a stack with a datagrid with version 6 or 7 and then open that stack
in LC 8, if you want to avoid to set up everything via script directly in LC 8!


Best

Klaus

jcasler
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 4:36 pm

Re: LC 8 Object Inspectors

Post by jcasler » Tue Mar 01, 2016 11:39 pm

Thanks Klaus. I will compose my soul in patience till a later DP :D
Jay+

Post Reply

Return to “Converting to LiveCode”