Using External Code Scripts

Want to move your code and projects to LiveCode but don't know where to start?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, robinmiller

hairydalek

Using External Code Scripts

Post by hairydalek » Mon Jan 18, 2016 10:36 am

HI,
I’m fairly new to LiveCode. It’s been suggested to me that I look at something I’ve written as an Automator Action (Mac folk will know what this means) and make it cross platform by making it a Live Code project. It sounds like as good idea, as the problem I am solving is one that Windows folk will experience as well as Mac folk.

What my Automator Action does is take images from a spherical camera, grabs the EXIF data (which is manufacturer specific) and levels it - so that the horizons is always level. The problem I can see is that this script uses a number of code libraries to achieve this. The Exif data is collected using ExifTool. The levelling is done by calling a few bits of code from Hugin (a free panorama stitching application). My Automator Action loops through a batch of images, passing them to a shell script in the Action. That shell does the actual work - grabbing Exif data, preparing the data that the code then uses to process the images.

So, what I need to know is if this is possible to roll into a cross platform (Mac, Windows, possibly Linux) Live Code project. There is a Windows version of Hugin, so the libraries used should be useable on the platform. I’ll need some pointers too on where to look for more information on bolting this together, as I’m not that familiar with Live Code. Lots of head scratching on my part, but it will be worth knowing if this is even possible before I start.

Thanks.

Jeanne DeVoto
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Using External Code Scripts

Post by Jeanne DeVoto » Mon Jan 18, 2016 5:21 pm

I think breaking the application down into tasks is the first step, just to get clarity.