Page 1 of 1

license code and versions 2.1 & 2.9

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 2:24 pm
by Bernard
Hi Malte,

I'm starting to use some features in AE. However, I'm a bit confused by the versioning.

Since both 2.1 and 2.9 are available on the RR site, I assume they are covered by different licenses. I have a license for 2.1. Does it cover 2.9?

Furthermore, with 2.9 running via "start using" I can't see anything to tell me if it is licensed or not. Or even where one would put the license key (maybe that disappears because it finds my 2.1 license somewhere).

Bernard

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 6:37 pm
by malte
Hey Bernard, your 2.1 key is good for 2.9. Until now I only charged for major version jumps 1.x to 2.x that is. If it does not prompt you for anything, all should be well :)

The reason why 2.1 is still available is that that was the last version that works with Rev <2.9. Hope that clears up the confusion,


Malte

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 7:34 pm
by Bernard
That's cool, Malte. I assume that when I come to install AE on a computer where there is no valid license it will just prompt me for one.

Thanks,

Bernard