Animation engine: Memory leak

Create fast, sprite powered games with Animation Engine, co-developed with DerBrill Software!

Moderators: heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller, malte

Post Reply
AstghikM
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:35 pm

Animation engine: Memory leak

Post by AstghikM » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:17 pm

Hello,
I am using animation engine in my code to move objects, but after some time the movement slows down. Why? Here is the code

Code: Select all

on moveButton 
   aeSetFrameRate 50

   if isMoving is true then
      if lStage is 13 then
       set the movePolygonal["pointList"] of button("mover"&lStage) to the points of graphic ("Path"&myArr[lStage])
         set the movePolygonal["step"] of button("mover"&lStage) to 13
         put 1 into lStage
         
      else
         set the movePolygonal["pointList"] of button("mover"&lStage) to the points of graphic ("Path"&myArr[lStage])
         set the movePolygonal["step"] of button("mover"&lStage) to lStage*2
         add 1 to lStage
      end if
      send "movePolygonal" to button ("mover"&lStage)
      send "moveButton" to me in 3 milliseconds
   end if
   
end moveButton
or just from aeMoveTo

Code: Select all

 aeMoveTo the long id of grp("bubble "&x),  myxLoc,-50,x*2000

Klaus
Posts: 9578
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Animation engine: Memory leak

Post by Klaus » Tue Mar 17, 2015 7:19 pm

We actually have a dedicated AE forum! 8)
Will move this (and other) thread(s) there.

malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Re: Animation engine: Memory leak

Post by malte » Wed Mar 18, 2015 1:55 pm

Hi,

I doubt memory is leaking. What it looks like is that the pendingMessages queue up quite a bit. Try sending in more milliseconds and increasing the step.

Hope that helps,

Malte

AstghikM
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2014 8:35 pm

Re: Animation engine: Memory leak

Post by AstghikM » Wed Mar 18, 2015 7:15 pm

malte wrote:Hi,

I doubt memory is leaking. What it looks like is that the pendingMessages queue up quite a bit. Try sending in more milliseconds and increasing the step.

Hope that helps,

Malte
Thank you malte :) you gave me very important and useful information i didn't know about it :)

Post Reply

Return to “Animation Engine”