Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Creating Games? Developing something for fun?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Wiz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:00 am

Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by Wiz » Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:38 am

Hi :o im a newbie in livecode .. I've already created my 1st standalone game.
I used arrow keys on my keyboard to move my character.
before deployment there are no problems.. but after deployment.. when i use arrow keys it keeps going to the next card., and supposedly the arrow keys use for the movement of my character.
and when i use Enter key .. it functions like a button even i didn't put a code in it.. :cry:

give me some factor where is the possible problem .. Card? Deployment settings? or actual the code? :?
Im new in this language and I don't know where to fixed it and how .. can anyone help me ?
thanks :)

SparkOut
Posts: 1643
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by SparkOut » Fri Jan 09, 2015 11:48 am

In the Preferences menu on the General tab, uncheck the box under Shortcuts : Arrow keys navigate through cards.

And/or use a script line:

Code: Select all

set the navigationArrows to false

dave.kilroy
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 838
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, UK
Contact:

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by dave.kilroy » Fri Jan 09, 2015 1:49 pm

Hi Wiz, as regards "and when i use Enter key .. it functions like a button even i didn't put a code in it.." Is the button that gets activated by the enter key a default button? Or do you have the following settings checked in it?
Screen Shot 2015-01-09 at 12.35.04.png
If so then hitting the enter or return key can in certain circumstances activate it...if this is happening to you either use a non-default button or uncheck the 'traversalOn' and 'default' boxes in the inspector of the appropriate button
"...this is not the code you are looking for..."

Wiz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by Wiz » Sun Jan 11, 2015 1:55 pm

SparkOut wrote:In the Preferences menu on the General tab, uncheck the box under Shortcuts : Arrow keys navigate through cards.

And/or use a script line:

set the navigationArrows to false
I tried the preferences settings but it didn't work .. but the script work for me .. thanks :)

Wiz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by Wiz » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:03 pm

Thanks Dave it works :)
.....
I have one concern again :lol: Why is it even that i already closed the application its still processing? The audio is still running even that it already closed.
What I always do is go to task manager and stop the process.

sorry for asking to much .. I love asking :D

sefrojones
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 447
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 12:46 pm

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by sefrojones » Sun Jan 11, 2015 5:14 pm

Wiz,

Have a look at pendingmessages() in the dictionary,and see this thread for some Mark's solution for quitting your application:

http://forums.livecode.com/viewtopic.php?t=1026


--Sefro

Wiz
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 09, 2015 10:00 am

Re: Card problem? deployment settings? Keys problem?

Post by Wiz » Tue Jan 13, 2015 2:23 pm

thanks sefrojones :) next time i should read all posts first before asking :lol:

Post Reply

Return to “Creating Games”