Tool bar not moving

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

DaltonCalford
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 7:33 pm

Tool bar not moving

Post by DaltonCalford » Sun Jul 17, 2011 5:19 pm

I use Kubuntu 11.04 and livecode 4.6.2

The toolbar is fixed in place and I can not change it's placement, but I can under windows - can anyone tell me what setting I need to change to allow me to move the toolbar?

wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 4:12 am

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by wsamples » Sun Jul 17, 2011 7:43 pm

Can you move it by pressing "alt" while grabbing it? I can't move the Tools Palette without doing that.

DaltonCalford
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by DaltonCalford » Sun Jul 17, 2011 8:12 pm

wsamples wrote:Can you move it by pressing "alt" while grabbing it? I can't move the Tools Palette without doing that.
I can move it without the "alt" under windows - never tried using alt under linux, I will give that a try, thanks.

DaltonCalford
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 06, 2011 7:33 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by DaltonCalford » Mon Jul 18, 2011 2:27 am

Thanks - that was the solution - in fact, once I moved it with the alt key, I did not have to use the alt key again, it now moves freely just like windows.

CamLewis
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 9:01 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by CamLewis » Wed May 04, 2016 9:03 pm

I can't move it on a Mac no matter what combination of keys I hold down. Anyone have any ideas?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 7929
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by FourthWorld » Wed May 04, 2016 9:14 pm

CamLewis wrote:I can't move it on a Mac no matter what combination of keys I hold down. Anyone have any ideas?
Which version are you using?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

RoliPasion
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:35 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by RoliPasion » Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:38 pm

Hey,

i can't move my toolbar at my Macbook too. My Live Code Version is 9 i also tried a newer Version but it won't move.

Can someone help me please?

Klaus
Posts: 11945
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by Klaus » Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:41 pm

Hi RoliPasion,

welcome to the forum!

If you really mean the TOOLBAR (right under the Mac menubar) and not the TOOL palette, this is correct behaviour!
The Toolbar is not meant to be moved (on the Mac, no idea about Windows).


Best

Klaus

bogs
Posts: 4790
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by bogs » Wed Feb 19, 2020 8:38 pm

Pictures, or it didn't happen :D
aPic_AStoryOfTwoToolbars.png
Rev Menu Bar on top, Rev Tool Palette on side...
Image

RoliPasion
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 19, 2020 5:35 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by RoliPasion » Fri Feb 28, 2020 10:08 pm

Okay i found my problem but i don't have a solution for it.

My Toolbar is in the middle of my screen and like already said i can't move the tool bar because it is not meant to be but the area above the tool bar isn't clickable if i move my tool palette in this area i can't choose any object.

Has some a solution for my problem?

Thanks in advance

bogs
Posts: 4790
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by bogs » Sat Feb 29, 2020 11:36 am

Well, you could try this in steps to see if one or the other of these is causing your problem.

Go to the View menu -> Toolbar Text / Toolbar Icons section.
aPic_MenuBarIssue.png
Could I have a menu please???
aPic_MenuBarIssue.png (51.67 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
... Uncheck the 'Icons' first, see if the Menu bar goes to where it is supposed to go.


If not, then recheck the Icons and uncheck the "text".
... Again, check to see if this affects the position of the menu bar.

If neither of those options set the Menu bar to where it needs to be, then uncheck both, which will certainly remove the problem of the Menu bar, but you will have to use the actual menu system for everything else.

Please report back with what you see as each is ticked / unticked.

*Edit -- After posting the above, it made me wonder if this is some weird extension of the tabs thing Craig noticed?
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3122
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by mwieder » Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:56 pm

:!: :!: :!: OMG! DON'T DISABLE BOTH TEXT AND ICONS ON THE LC MENUBAR! :shock: :shock: :shock:
That will not only hang LiveCode but halt your linux desktop manager to the point where you have to do drastic things to get back.

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3122
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by mwieder » Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:59 pm

Ah. I see we're talking about OSX in this forum now.
Moderators?

bogs
Posts: 4790
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by bogs » Sat Feb 29, 2020 9:04 pm

Erm, this thread indeed started off about linux, but someone who has a mac found a similar problem.
mwieder wrote:
Sat Feb 29, 2020 8:56 pm
:!: :!: :!: OMG! DON'T DISABLE BOTH TEXT AND ICONS ON THE LC MENUBAR! :shock: :shock: :shock:
That will not only hang LiveCode but halt your linux desktop manager to the point where you have to do drastic things to get back.
Hmm, I didn't notice any drastic effect from doing that on OSX, albeit it was not with the latest version. Does that happen now? If so, I didn't know and apologize to RoliPasion for the bad advice :oops:
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3122
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Tool bar not moving

Post by mwieder » Sat Feb 29, 2020 9:08 pm

No, it's a linux bug, dutifully recorded. But a drastic one at that.

http://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=16880

Post Reply

Return to “Linux”