Page 2 of 2

Re: Installing LiveCode Business on Linux Today???

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 11:35 am
by mrcoollion
karmacomposer wrote:
Sat Jun 06, 2020 4:28 pm
I was just hoping to run a new Raspberry Pi (4gb and even 8gb ram) with Livecode programs - with a quad core processor, usb 3.0 slots, 256gb micro sd card, wifi, bluetooth and amazing video capabilities, they are pretty much little full-featured computers now, 32 bit and 64 bit capable!
I had been looking into the possibility of having my LC app run on Raspberry Pi (8gb ram) but came to the conclusion that this was not possible with a LC to Linux compiled app (due to no Broadcom 2711, Cortex-A-72, 64-bit SoC @ 1.5 GHz processor support). So I am now looking into using an Android TV box for this as I know (and have tested on my android phone) that LC works pretty good on Android. Bonus is that with some investigations a decent Android TV box can be bought for less than 40 euro's. So this is the route I will first try when my app V1.0 is ready.

(AliExpress example: https://nl.aliexpress.com/item/40002405 ... web201603_).


Regards,

Paul

Re: Installing LiveCode Business on Linux Today???

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 5:57 pm
by FourthWorld
FWIW the v7.x build for RPi is only unstable with A GUI. I've run a standalone facelessly on an RPi with no issue, which is often all that's needed for IoT.

And if you do need a GUI, LC 7's RPi issues seem limited to the IDE and pulldown menus. Standalones can be built on an x86 PC and then transferred to the RPi and many will work quite well, at least back when I last experimented with these things a couple years ago.

Re: Installing LiveCode Business on Linux Today???

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2020 7:34 pm
by mrcoollion
When the application i am working on is test ready I will also test it on the Pi 4. However the LC version I compile with does need to support tsNet and DataGrids.
Let see what works better :)