Open printing to pdf produces no file

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Open printing to pdf produces no file

Postby Scoperzor » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:37 am

I've been using 'open printing to pdf' successfully on a few Linux systems so far, but there's one I'm struggling with and I can't pinpoint the reason for it.

The result of open printing to pdf is always empty, regardless of not creating the file, so is there any other way to troubleshoot what is going on? I have root privileges on the user and have granted full write permissions to the executable and all folders within the base directory.

Please let me know what information I can supply to help resolve this.
Scoperzor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:10 pm

Re: Open printing to pdf produces no file

Postby MaxV » Tue Aug 22, 2017 1:24 pm

If it is the standalone, verify if the library file is copied (revpdfprinter.so).
If you use the last versions of livecode, there is bug around about the folder char separator that should be always /, but sometimes becomes \.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w
MaxV
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Open printing to pdf produces no file

Postby Scoperzor » Fri Aug 25, 2017 6:24 am

MaxV wrote:If it is the standalone, verify if the library file is copied (revpdfprinter.so).
If you use the last versions of livecode, there is bug around about the folder char separator that should be always /, but sometimes becomes \.


I only use 7.0.6 to compile Linux standalones as later versions (8+) give me a multitude of issues. Yes, revpdfprinter.so is copied in and in the correct folder. The application responds similarly to when I exclude the external file, so it's almost as if it isn't correctly used/accessed during the file creation.
Scoperzor
 
Posts: 70
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:10 pm

Re: Open printing to pdf produces no file

Postby MaxV » Fri Aug 25, 2017 10:54 am

launch yout program with linux strace command, it will say what's wrong. In the Linux shell launch:

Code: Select all
strace  path_to_my_app
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w
MaxV
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest