Unsupported, but does it work? KaOS

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Unsupported, but does it work? KaOS

Postby wsamples » Tue Sep 06, 2016 2:49 pm

Full official Linux support is extremely limited, but LiveCode runs well in many unsupported distros. Sadly, not as well in a few others.

KaOS is definitely an outlier distro. A self standing project using its own packages, it offers only KDE Plasma and has a predominant focus on the QT toolkit. This makes it in some regards a good experiment because we can expect to have to provide additional libraries in order to get LiveCode working. Again, initial installation was from DVD using all defaults.

After making the LiveCode installer executable, clicking on it did nothing. 'ldd' did not reveal any missing libs and trying to open it from the command line did not produce any output. Following the advice in the LiveCode release notes, I installed google-chrome. That was all it took. LiveCode runs correctly, although responding sometimes a little sluggishly with some elements -- most notably answer dialogs -- not drawing all at once, but in noticeable step fashion. KaOS was not happy in VirtualBox, not offering normal integration, so it may run LiveCode with better visual smoothness when fully installed. In any event, it was very simple to get from no-go to fully functioning.
wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 4:12 am

Re: Unsupported, but does it work? KaOS

Postby MaxV » Wed Sep 07, 2016 11:25 pm

Did you try to install deb/rpm package for linux? See http://www.maxvessi.net/livecode/linux/index.php
It's unofficial, but it usually works.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w
MaxV
 
Posts: 1282
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy

Re: Unsupported, but does it work? KaOS

Postby wsamples » Thu Sep 08, 2016 2:23 am

There was no need to do anything other than install a piece of software from the distro's official repo which installed whatever dependencies were missing. Also, there are several distros which don't use either rpm or deb and KaOS is one of them.
wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 190
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 4:12 am


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests