Livecode file is suddenly font file

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Livecode file is suddenly font file

Postby Rob van der Sloot » Wed Dec 09, 2015 4:57 pm

I made an app in Livecode in Linux.
It is still there with the extension .livecode
But the logo shows that its a font file.
When I want to open it Livecode does not recognise it anymore.
Does someone knows how to make it a Livecode file again?

Thanks
Rob van der Sloot
Rob van der Sloot
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:21 am

Re: Livecode file is suddenly font file

Postby FourthWorld » Wed Dec 09, 2015 5:12 pm

Can you open the stack file from within LiveCode using the File -> Open Stack menu item?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Livecode file is suddenly font file

Postby Rob van der Sloot » Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:01 pm

NO, I tried to open it from within LiveCode. Later I tried to open it by double clicking, which of course also did not work.
But now the whole file is gone.
So I think it has somethoing to do with Linux. It often happend that LiveCode suddenly stops, the same with Firefox. I think that there is a cache problem, but I don't know how to solve it. So I have to make the app again I am afraid and dive into Linux.

Thanks
Rob van der Sloot
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Apr 17, 2010 9:21 am

Re: Livecode file is suddenly font file

Postby FourthWorld » Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:19 pm

I do most of my work in Ubuntu, so perhaps I can help. I can think of no reason why Linux or LiveCode would delete the file, but perhaps an error occurred within LiveCode during saving. Even then, in most cases you'd still have an incomplete file, but in all cases you should have a temporary backup file in the same directory with the same name as your stack file preceded with "~". Try turning on "Show Hidden Files" in your file manager and see if there is such a file in that directory, and let me know what you find. We'll have this sorted soon enough.

Also, which version of LiveCode are you using? I've found the most recent build of the v7 series to be quite robust on Ubuntu.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Livecode file is suddenly font file

Postby ghettocottage » Thu Dec 10, 2015 12:53 am

You aren't by any chance saving and opening your file from a remote drive are you?

I have had some applications act funky when using remote storage.
ghettocottage
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:18 am


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest