Atom Editor

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

ghettocottage
Livecode Opensource Backer

Atom Editor

Post by ghettocottage » Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:10 pm

To date, I have been using gEdit as my text-editor. It has enough plugins to get me by, and I was even able to put together a Livecode language file so it would highlight my <?lc tags and such.

I have tried many other editors, including brackets, sublime, geany, bluefish, etc. but gEdit has a nice feature where the side-bar shows my sFTP folders I have bookmarked in my file-browser (nautilus).

This past week I started playing with atom editor: atom.io
I feel like a first-class nerd for getting excited about a text-editor, but:

-it is easy to edit the appearence, since it is based on css and html
-it has some really cool add-ons
-it is open-source
-it works great in Ubuntu
-it looks great in Ubuntu
-it lets me open a book-marked sFTP folder, and then keeps that folder as "project" folder

I am loving it. Now I need to write another language file for Livecode server files...

Anyone else using atom?

wsamples
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Atom Editor

Post by wsamples » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:18 pm

Atom already has a LiveCode language package.

ghettocottage

Post by ghettocottage » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:28 pm

wsamples wrote:Atom already has a LiveCode language package.

It looks like that is specifically for editing .lcb files rather than .rev or .lc files, which is what I am after:
Currently, this package supports editing LiveCode Builder source code in .lcb files. It provides syntax highlighting and indentation support.

zaxos

Post by zaxos » Thu Jul 02, 2015 6:32 pm

interesting post, i'l certainly give atom a try, is it possible to edit a .livecode file outside of the IDE? how is it handling images and files in it? or have i completely misunderstood?
Knowledge is meant to be shared.

ghettocottage