New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby richmond62 » Tue Mar 24, 2015 7:39 pm

I hope Richard Gaskin forgives me.

ubuntify.livecode.zip
(13.35 KiB) Downloaded 75 times


There is NO undo!
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby FourthWorld » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:07 pm

To be honest it never occurred to me anyone else would enjoy it. I've moved the code from a plugin I use to use into the next version of my devolution toolkit I'm making, which will eventually be posted to Github under GPL v3 once we get the stack deconstruction/reconstruction routines in the v8 IDE. In the meantime, if you feel like tweaking the code feel free to pass your changes back to me if you like and I'll include them in my copy with attribution.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby FourthWorld » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:09 pm

Nicely done, Richmond. Now I feel compelled to resurrect my plugin if only to make sure it includes the GPL copyright notice I feel is helpful for these sorts of shared things.

Yes, the mod can't be undone per se, but it doesn't matter since the IDE is not normally saved. As a plugin that runs at startup it modifies the IDE in just a couple milliseconds, and simply removing the plugin and restarting resumes the appearance the IDE was saved with when it shipped.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby trevix » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:29 pm

I am not sure if I can follow you guys on this but...
I tried the Richard's script. The concept, I believe, is that any stack and standalone will inherit the color changes. It is not the LC interface that matter, where I could cope with, but how the developed stacks and standalone will look (this is for gettocottage, which I thank...).
But he color properties changes don't solve my problem. As you can see, this leave the "hilited" menu white on white, no matter the color values.
Code: Select all
-- Colors:
     set the backcolor of this cd to gray15
     set the forecolor of this cd to gray90
     set the topcolor of this cd to gray55
     set the bottomColor of this cd to gray25
     --other
    --set the backcolor of this cd to 240,240,240 --gray15
     --set the forecolor of this cd to 50,50,50 --gray90
     --set the topcolor of this cd to 200,200,200 --gray55
     --set the bottomColor of this cd to 100,100,100 --gray25

Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 16.12.39.png
Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 16.12.39.png (38.77 KiB) Viewed 1381 times

Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 16.13.19.png
Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 16.13.19.png (18.25 KiB) Viewed 1381 times


I though about putting a "hiliteColor" on the repeat, but things don't change.
The "accentColor", according to the dictionary, should do it but is not supported on Linux. Tried: no error but no changes
I guess I missing other menu color properties.
Or I will have to try XFCE or VirtualBox (but you know the feeling...more try, more time). I just wanted to convert a stack to Linux. Sigh!
Trevix
trevix
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby FourthWorld » Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:11 pm

Switching window managers shouldn't be needed; LC should work well regardless of which one is currently in use.

VirtualBox may be worth trying for two reasons:
1. If it works there you've narrowed the problem down to VMWare.
2. It's free, fast, and flexible, so it's a good tool to be familiar with even if you weren't having issues with the other one.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5305
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby ghettocottage » Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:47 pm

It is not the LC interface that matter, where I could cope with, but how the developed stacks and standalone will look



why not just post your standalone here and we can tell you it has that issue or not in Ubuntu. All my linux standalones work fine.

I just recently went through a weird thing trying to get a standalone working in OS X. I have OS X running in Virtualbox(dont ask me how...but it works) but none of my standalones would work. They all crashed on open. I thought I was doing something wrong in my code and spent several hours trying to fix it.

Finally sent my standalone to a friend with a newer mac and it opened right up. No problems. wished I would have tried that at first.
ghettocottage
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 219
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:18 am

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem (SOLVED?)

Postby trevix » Wed Mar 25, 2015 7:36 pm

Oh well...partially solved.
While a test stack look like this:
Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 19.18.16.png

The standalone (64 Linux originated from Linux or Mac) looks fine (I guess orange is coming from the ubuntu default interface):
Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 19.19.38.png
Schermata 2015-03-25 alle 19.19.38.png (20.86 KiB) Viewed 1355 times

Now..if only I could get the sound out of LC in Linux :roll:
Trevix
trevix
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby richmond62 » Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:06 pm

I wonder if the reason you are having problems with your sound from LC is something to do with your general settings?

Try this:

Crack open the Terminal and type:

sudo alsa force-reload

then type your password when it asks for it, THEN type:

pulseaudio -D

followed by:

alsamixer

with alsamixer you can fiddle around with all your sound settings :)
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby trevix » Fri Mar 27, 2015 6:35 pm

Richmond:
I did reload but after the pulseaudio I've got:
trevix@ubuntu:~$ pulseaudio -D
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Avvio del demone non riuscito.

I noticed that on loading ubuntu, in the Windows style list there is a red line (I think...restore sound state: failed) but I forgot which key has to be pressed in order to step trough the loading in order to read it. And if that were the case I am not sure what should I do.

FouthWorld:
I downloaded VirtualBox and start a fresh ubuntu (no problems except for some keyboard puzzle...ISO/Eu/US/control/Command...). I must say thanks: very fast and easy install.
I then installed again LC 14.0.4 RC2 and the result is this again:
Schermata 2015-03-27 alle 16.46.28.png
Schermata 2015-03-27 alle 16.46.28.png (37.44 KiB) Viewed 1317 times

So, default install...fresh emulator, fresh ubuntu, same problem. (Must be Mavericks that stinks)

I must also say that I have the same audio problem on VirtualBox too. No beep from LC.
The ubuntu audio preferences work fine (sound effect, etc.)
I also tried to change the controller choice on VirtualBox to no avail.
Finally the "sudo alsa force-reload" thing.
this is the result:
Code: Select all
trevixlin@trevixlin-VirtualBox:~$ sudo alsa force-reload
[sudo] password for trevixlin:
Unloading ALSA sound driver modules: snd-hda-codec-idt snd-hda-codec-generic snd-hda-intel snd-hda-controller snd-hda-codec snd-hwdep snd-pcm snd-seq-midi snd-seq-midi-event snd-rawmidi snd-seq snd-seq-device snd-timer (failed: modules still loaded: snd-hda-codec-idt snd-hda-codec-generic snd-hda-intel snd-hda-controller snd-hda-codec snd-hwdep snd-pcm snd-timer).
Loading ALSA sound driver modules: snd-hda-codec-idt snd-hda-codec-generic snd-hda-intel snd-hda-controller snd-hda-codec snd-hwdep snd-pcm snd-seq-midi snd-seq-midi-event snd-rawmidi snd-seq snd-seq-device snd-timer.
trevixlin@trevixlin-VirtualBox:~$ pulseaudio -D
E: [pulseaudio] main.c: Avvio del demone non riuscito.
trevixlin@trevixlin-VirtualBox:~$


Puzzling, since I don't have an exotic hardware/software Host combination...! (That's why more and more people try to run their business with a mobile phone or dull tablet)

Trevix
Trevix
trevix
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby richmond62 » Fri Mar 27, 2015 9:28 pm

"Avvio del demone non riuscito"

Well, unless you are a devil worshipper that shouldn't disappoint you :)

If you get that just carry on and type

alsamixer
richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 1845
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria

Re: New Linux user. Menu colors problem

Postby trevix » Sat Mar 28, 2015 10:48 am

:D :D :D
Now I just need to map my iMac Italian keyboard so that I could press F1, F2 etc. (sigh)
Trevix
trevix
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Sat Feb 24, 2007 11:25 pm
Location: Italy

Previous

Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests