Execute permissions?

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Sat Oct 03, 2020 4:58 pm

I'm very new to Linux, please forgive me for any idiotic things I may say... ;)

I have an app I created that uses an embedded copy of exiftool, so users don't need to have that installed separately. It's working well on Mac, Windows, and Linux... BUT on Linux it seems when I download the software I have to set the Properties > Permissions > Execute checkbox for the app to allow it to 'execute as a program.' I guess this is normal for Linux? I'm using a fresh installation of Mint (Cinnamon) on an old MacBook Air.

If that's normal then I guess the average Linux user will know about doing that. The slightly more frustrating issue is that the copy of exiftool which is inside a subdirectory of the app download ALSO has to have this set. So...
  • Is there any way I can change this so a fresh download doesn't need that set for exiftool?
  • Is it possible to set this by script, so I could perhaps detect and do it at app launch?
k
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Sat Oct 03, 2020 7:02 pm

Answering my own question! :)

Code: Select all

chmod +x /path/to/the/file
does the trick, and I'll check the file's permissions with

Code: Select all

ls -l /path/to/the/file
first, on startup, and set it only if necessary.

But please do throw things at me if this isn't a wise move for some reason. :)

k
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8011
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by FourthWorld » Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:29 pm

You can also right-click in the executable, choose "Properties", and click the executable checkbox in the Permissions tab.

If LC Ltd delivered this in a standard .Deb package this step could be done for you.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Mon Oct 05, 2020 11:02 pm

The shell way of checking and setting that does the trick very nicely, although a deb approach would be good. The the more LC apps can be part of every platform's mainstream the better.
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8011
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Oct 06, 2020 12:12 am

If you don't mind a little off-topic, Keith, what sparked your interest in Linux?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Tue Oct 06, 2020 2:16 pm

I've always been a little curious, and I built my Exif Fixer app for Linux as well as Mac and Windows. I've been trying halfhearted to get Linux installed on an old MacBook Air, and a Linux-specific bug in my app (plus some encouragement) spurred me on into trying again. Mint did the trick, including sorta working with the wifi hardware.
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8011
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by FourthWorld » Tue Oct 06, 2020 9:38 pm

Yeah, it seems the wifi spec has so much leeway with chipset makers it's often a dodgy area. There's a hardware certification site for Ubuntu I can dig up if you go shopping for another Linux box soon, should be good for most Ubuntu-derived distros.

And of course if you want the smoothest experience, go for what we do with Mac and Win: pick up a machine with Linux pre-installed. Dell's XPS line has some enviable specs, and System 76 makes some awesome machines with an Ubuntu-based distro.

While I lust after a System 76 laptop, I've had such good luck putting Ubuntu on Dells that I've stuck with that brand for a long time. My latest is a small HP laptop where Ubuntu also runs great out of the box, but I researched that one first on the hardware certification site so that one wasn't so much luck as just research. :)
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:18 pm

I am tempted, I must admit! 😁 I'd appreciate pointers, if only to point out any bear traps. If I go further it will have to be with a separate device rather than dual booting, so wifi networking will be even more important.
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8011
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Oct 07, 2020 3:04 am

A good place to start is the Ubuntu Certified Hardware page:
https://certification.ubuntu.com/desktop

I've also found just searching for "<modelnumber> Ubuntu" brings up a lot of very relevant reviews.

And for a premium experience I do enjoy the good folks at System76 in Denver CO - their latest mode, Thelio, is handcrafted with a fine wood case:
https://system76.com/desktops
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

thatkeith
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 301
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 7:13 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by thatkeith » Wed Oct 07, 2020 10:43 am

I'm in the middle of a career adjustment so at this point I'm not in the market for anything but a serious budget solution. But that's a useful link for me to start with!
Senior Lecturer, LCC (University of the Arts London)
Technical Editor, MacUser (1996-2015)
360 VR media specialist

ghettocottage
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 362
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 9:18 am

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by ghettocottage » Wed Oct 07, 2020 2:53 pm

I just had some work-situations change and needed a laptop so I could be in an office or go home to work. By pure chance a friend was selling a Lenovo Thinkpad T540p for cheap. I did not care for it at first glance, but the price was right ($200)

After having it for a couple of weeks I love it. The only caveat was I had to make sure the BIOS was updated before changing the OS.

Ubuntu installed and all hardware worked immediately
There are several accoutrements specifically for this device such as a thing that replaces the dvd drive with a second hard drive.
It has a docking station that allows for multiple monitors of several types (display port, hdmi, dvi, and vga)
It supports 16gb RAM
I have been working all day with no hang ups or freezes

I usually do not like sounding like a fanboy, but if you need a good budget linux laptop workstation these models of Thinkpads seem to be workhorses. The docking stations are cheap on eBay and let me switch from office to home easily.

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3130
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: Execute permissions?

Post by mwieder » Fri Oct 09, 2020 1:09 am

Ha! Last year I also picked up a used ThinkPad to replace my Dell tower. The last model that still has a CD drive.
I upgraded my Mint installation to 19.3 last week and it's been running fine.
I've got an older ThinkPad that I haul around to conferences and it's also rock-solid.
My only gripe about the ThinkPads is the nonstandard power adapter plugs.

Post Reply

Return to “Linux”