LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Deploying to Linux? Get penguinated here.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby berserk » Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:35 am

Hello everyone.
I just downloaded LC 8 and installed, everything went fine.
As I open it, I choose to attend the interactive tour, but it won't display any text or nothing.
I then tried to create a new Stack, but as I try adding whatever widget to the window, nothing happens.
What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Bye, Berserk.
berserk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:31 am

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby Klaus » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:04 pm

Hi Berserk,

1. welcome to the forum! :D

2. Since we have a dedicated LINUX forum, I will move this thread there.
I do not use Linux, so I cannot be of any help, sorry.

3. Please add some more info:
What Linux distro are you using and what version of Livecode?


Best

Klaus
Klaus
 
Posts: 9331
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby berserk » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:55 pm

Hello there.
Yes, I noticed the Linux section, but the description says it's for deployment and I thought it wasn't the right section.
My distro is in the thread title (Debian Jessie) but I forgot to mention I'm using the 64 bit version.
LiveCode version is 8, freshly downloaded today.

Bye, Berserk.
berserk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:31 am

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby andrewferguson » Thu Mar 16, 2017 3:15 pm

I've been running LiveCode 8 and 9 on Debian 8.7 (Jessie) for a few months now with no issues.

My specs:
Debian 8.7 64-bit
LXDE Desktop environment
Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
4 GB RAM

From the issues you are having (text and widgets not appearing), it seems that perhaps one of your system libraries is not compatible with LiveCode. You can find the exact Linux system requirements on page 3 of the LiveCode User Guide - http://livecodestatic.com/downloads/livecode/8_1_3/LiveCodeNotes-8_1_3.pdf (this is for LC 8.1.3, see here for different versions / release notes).

Look and see if there are any differences between the LC requirements and your libraries. If not, come back here and we'll try something else.
andrewferguson
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 179
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 5:09 pm

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby berserk » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:39 pm

As reported in the document you linked to me, if I successfully run Chrome and/or Firefox, I have all deps installed.
This is the case, as I have both.
Then, somewhere it says it needs JDK 8, I installed it, but nothing changed.
I'm running Debian Jessie 8.7 64 bit with Mate, Intel core duo quad with 8 gb RAM.

Thanks anyhow.
berserk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:31 am

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby FourthWorld » Thu Mar 16, 2017 8:34 pm

JDK is only needed when building apps for Android.

To better assess the problem, is anything else not working other than the tutorial?

FWIW I use LC on Ubuntu daily, so even if we find an issue with the tutorial I'm sure we can get you up and running with LiveCode on Linux well.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5235
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby berserk » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:07 am

As I said earlyer, as I create a new stack and put widgets on the sheet, nothing happens.
berserk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:31 am

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby berserk » Fri Mar 17, 2017 8:17 am

Nevermind, I were using LiveCode for evaluating purposes.
I found QtCreator is way better, I'll uninstall LC.

Bye, Berserk.
berserk
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 11:31 am

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby FourthWorld » Fri Mar 17, 2017 6:45 pm

QtCreator is a great toolkit for developing Linux apps. I have many friends in the Ubuntu community who enjoy it.

If you ever decide to give LiveCode another try, given the variety of Debian-based systems I use it on (Lubuntu, Raspian, and the last three Ubuntu LTSes along with Ubuntu Core) I'm pretty sure we could figure out what happened with the widget inclusions in your install.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5235
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby MaxV » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:32 am

Hey, wait, Livecode is much better than QTcreator, use this http://www.maxvessi.net/livecode/public ... uncher.zip

Some distros, starting from version 8, need:
Code: Select all
export LC_ALL= LC_NUMERIC=C
export LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=1


I just uploaded version 2. In the ZIP you'll find the linux program to launch correctly livecode and the source that I used to write the launcher.
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w
MaxV
 
Posts: 1224
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby FourthWorld » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:24 am

What do those flags mean?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5235
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby MaxV » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:08 am

Well, it's a solution for many browsers and softwares on linux. I just tried and works. :twisted:
LC_ALL is the environment variable that overrides all the other localization settings.
LC_NUMERIC selects the numeric formatting category of the C locale

So the first command set the locale to the livecode locale. Widget are so strict that a different locales means problems.

LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE disable DRI3 (Direct rendering version 3), any value activate this flag, so 1 means nothing. It could be 2 or "hello world".
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w
MaxV
 
Posts: 1224
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy

Re: LiveCode doesn't work on Linux (Debian Jessie)

Postby FourthWorld » Fri Mar 24, 2017 2:18 pm

Is there some way the need for those extra settings could be determined by the engine at startup?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5235
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Linux

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 3 guests