OS X Mountain Lion

Deploying to Mac OS? Ask Mac OS specific questions here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
pixelitodesign
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 10:25 am

OS X Mountain Lion

Post by pixelitodesign » Sat Feb 18, 2012 3:45 pm

Testing the beta of mountain lion currently and current live code version runs flawless. Short compiled stack runn aswell without problem.

spencer
Posts: 71
Joined: Mon May 09, 2011 3:01 pm

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by spencer » Mon May 07, 2012 3:43 am

Good to hear.

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 8008
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by FourthWorld » Mon May 07, 2012 7:36 am

spencer wrote:Good to hear.
+1 Thanks for the report.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

igorBUSvRhc
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:12 am

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by igorBUSvRhc » Mon May 14, 2012 10:12 am

Many thanks for the report.

One question I have is in regards to "Gatekeeper", and code-signing. Are LiveCode desktop apps able to be code-signed - ie., gatekeeper-ready?

igorBUSvRhc
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:12 am

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by igorBUSvRhc » Mon May 14, 2012 10:15 am

I think I just found the answer to my own question re: sandboxing, here:

http://forums.runrev.com/viewtopic.php? ... 024#p51406

JosepM
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:40 pm

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by JosepM » Wed May 23, 2012 9:18 am

Thanks for the info.

Salut,
Josep M

bmatichuk
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:19 am
Location: Edmonton

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by bmatichuk » Fri Jul 27, 2012 2:05 pm

I installed mountain lion.
This deleted the developer folder, xcode is now someplace else
I had to install xcode 4.4 because xcode 4.3.3 will not run in mountain lion
try running livecode - it can't find the folder
there is no way to select the new developer folder in livecode.
(preferences are looking for a file and no file works)

So LiveCode is broken now.

shaosean
Posts: 906
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 7:53 am

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by shaosean » Fri Jul 27, 2012 2:12 pm

try emailing support@runrev.com and see if they can offer any suggestions..

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by jacque » Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:05 pm

XCode is now an app in your Applications folder. You need to reset the LiveCode mobile prefs to use that app. Just select the XCode application itself, you don't need to open the bundle. LiveCode will know what to do.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

bmatichuk
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:19 am
Location: Edmonton

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by bmatichuk » Fri Jul 27, 2012 9:44 pm

Here is the fix I finally figured out:

1) Completely remove LiveCode.
This is not as simple as it sounds. There are all kinds of places where LiveCode embeds itself. Simply dragging it to the trash will not work. I tried AppZapper, but it didn't do a good enough job, it only removed 3 files. Then I tried "CleanApp". It did an awesome job of cleaning everything out. (It lists quite a few files to delete. Don't select all, just the ones it recommends.)

2) install livecode

3) open the preferences

4) Go to mobile preferences and select the ellipses for the setting "Location of developer root for OS 5.0 and above"
(DO NOT SELECT the second row. This will cause problems to complicated too explain.)

5) point it at that new version of Xcode (4.4).

And that's it. Only took me much much tooooo long to figure that out.
(LiveCode needs to produce a proper uninstaller. And a working "Reset to defaults" function.)
(LiveCode should also be a lot smarter about Mountain Lion installs.)

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by jacque » Sat Jul 28, 2012 4:29 am

That's probably overkill, you only need to remove your preferences file. On OS X it's in the user library folder in:

~/Library/Preferences/RunRev/livecode.rev

I'm not really sure even that much is necessary though. Just use the "X" in the path fields to delete both mobile paths in the Mobile pane of Preferences in LiveCode, then redirect the top one to the new XCode. You may need to re-launch LiveCode after that.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

teacherguy
Posts: 377
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2011 2:43 am

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by teacherguy » Sat Jul 28, 2012 1:54 pm

Code: Select all

I'm not really sure even that much is necessary though. Just use the "X" in the path fields to delete both mobile paths in the Mobile pane of Preferences in LiveCode, then redirect the top one to the new XCode
Yep, worked just like that for me...up and running. :)

bmatichuk
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2010 7:19 am
Location: Edmonton

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by bmatichuk » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:15 am

Oh for a working X.

Clicking X in the path did nothing. That's why the extensive measures were required.
If I knew which file contained the strings, I would have removed them only, but how does one figure such things out?
There is no documentation for LiveCode indicating which files can be removed and what they contain.

-b

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5600
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by jacque » Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:40 pm

None of the IDE code itself is documented, but it seemed reasonable to me that everything done in IDE Preferences is stored in its prefs file. I'm not sure why your "X" buttons aren't working though, I've never seen that happen.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

Adrian
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 5:03 pm

Re: OS X Mountain Lion

Post by Adrian » Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:49 am

I found the little 'x' buttons didn't work either, so I used the button to reset all defaults, then just selected the Xcode app as mentioned in earlier posts. (and of course set my other preferences again).

Cheers,

Adrian

Post Reply

Return to “Mac OS”