What do I have to prepare if enabling Hi-DPI scaling?

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Tiemo
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Kassel, Germany
Contact:

What do I have to prepare if enabling Hi-DPI scaling?

Post by Tiemo » Mon Oct 24, 2016 1:15 pm

Hello,

Up to now I haven't enabled the Hi-DPI scaling for Windows standalones and since I don't have a hi-dpi monitor I can't test the difference of my standalones.

Do I have to prepare anything different, if I enable the hi-DPI scaling? Is it necessary to exchange all images by images with higher resolution?
(180dpi instead of 96 dpi, though dpi actually is a thing for print work?)

I assume if I would show my existing program (non-hi-dpi) on a high DPI monitor, all images will look blurred. But will they look sharper, if I keep all images and just enable hi-DPI scaling without any new images? And is it recommended to enable it by default? (If yes, why do we have this option at all and it is not fixed standard?)


Any insights and experiences welcome

Tiemo

tomBTG
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 48
Joined: Fri Nov 25, 2011 6:42 pm
Location: Kansas City
Contact:

Re: What do I have to prepare if enabling Hi-DPI scaling?

Post by tomBTG » Tue Oct 25, 2016 4:37 pm

Hi,

This Livecode blog post from 2014 may help:
https://livecode.com/tag/high-dpi/

Also, there is a utility stack named Scalini available in the Livecode resources area. That stack is very useful for taking your graphics file and generating various sizes of it with the proper naming scheme for Livecode.

Tom B.

Tiemo
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 3:37 pm
Location: Kassel, Germany
Contact:

Re: What do I have to prepare if enabling Hi-DPI scaling?

Post by Tiemo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 5:10 pm

thank you for the helpful link!
Tiemo

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”