Problem with playing video

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
pkmittal
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:27 am
Contact:

Problem with playing video

Post by pkmittal » Fri Apr 22, 2016 7:22 am

Hi, I am using Player Object to play the video. I have tried with 2 file types .mp4 and .mov

In some of the windows computer, it works fine (Win 7 and win10). Those computers have windows media players, real time player, etc installed..so perhaps all the necessary codecs

but in some it does not work (win 7 and 10). (it has nothing to do with windows 7 and windows 10). Real time player etc is not installed in these machines..

I can play the video manually but not through livecode exe in some of the computers. Are there any pre-reqiste sofware which has to be installed on computer to play video via live code exe? I thought that you need quick time player when you want to play inside live code but not when you want to run exe.

Could you please help? I am using simple code..

Code: Select all

   
 put the defaultfolder & "/FEData/" into dataPath
put (datapath & msgNo & ".mov") into videoPath
   set the filename of player playerName of stack "FE" to videoPath
   start player playerName of stack "FE"

Klaus
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by Klaus » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:38 am

Hi pkmittal,

Quicktime needs to be installed on the target computer(s)!
Is this the case? Real Time player does not matter.


Best

Klaus

pkmittal
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by pkmittal » Sat Apr 23, 2016 5:58 am

Thanks.. but we can not ask users to install quick time on windows to test the program.. is there any work around for this problem?

Klaus
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by Klaus » Sat Apr 23, 2016 9:59 am

Hi pkmittal,

hm, some formats can be played without QuickTIme, but this is unfortunately not reliable :(

Add this on preopenstack:
...
## Tell LC to NOT try to use QT
set the dontuseqt to TRUE
...
and then use player objects with MP4 files, it may work!
MOV files will definitively only work with QT!

Remember that the controller bar is a QT feature, so you may
have to create your own controller if neccessary.

Good luck!


Best

Klaus

P.S.
Scotland is working on a solution for Windows media playback without QT,
but that may take while...

studawg66
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 17, 2015 9:40 pm

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by studawg66 » Tue Apr 26, 2016 6:48 pm

Klaus is correct that it MAY work, but not reliably. QT was very reliable, but alas, that looks to be going away immediately for Windows users.
I have an app that used QT to play a multicast stream via SDP file and it worked fine even when logged out and running as the screensaver. Now that I'm trying to force it to use WMP, it will play SOME files when logged in, but NONE when logged out. So you may be lucky enough to get WMP to work but the vast majority of us are probably stuck waiting on Scotland to issue a fix of some sort. Hope they act quickly!

pkmittal
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Feb 08, 2007 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by pkmittal » Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:06 am

Thanks. In some computer, it works and some it does not work when quick time player is installed..

Is there any format which can work on all machine without installing any thing?

Klaus
Posts: 11262
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Problem with playing video

Post by Klaus » Wed Apr 27, 2016 11:41 am

Hi all,

in case you missed this good news from todays mailing list:
###########################################################
I intended to provide an update on this a little while back but forget,
apologies. The new player for Windows, which uses DirectShow within the
existing player object instead of QuickTIme will be in 8.1, with a DP
build either next week or in three weeks time depending on how various
things go.

Kind regards,

Kevin

Kevin Miller ~ kevin@livecode.com ~ http://www.livecode.com/
LiveCode: Everyone can create apps
#############################################################

Best

Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”