How can I do update of my app?

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
razvan
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:16 am

How can I do update of my app?

Post by razvan » Thu Mar 17, 2016 10:35 am

Hello everybody!
I want to make an update button in my app for my users.How can I do it?
I tryed to put my app on FTP ...and I used this lesson "http://lessons.livecode.com/m/4071/l/72 ... a-download" for download my .exe from FTP but when I try to execute it almost every time appear this error "The setup files are corrupted.Please obtain a new copy of the program"
If use filezilla for download the app ,it's working correct.

If someone can help me or tell me another way for update will be helpfully.
Thanks.
Razvan

Mark
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5150
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: How can I do update of my app?

Post by Mark » Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:02 am

Hi Razvan,

A good way is to use installer maker to build an installer containing the files that needs to be updated. Use http to download the file to the user's computer, not ftp. Use the launch command to start the installer and then quit your app. Have the installer open the app when it finishes.

Kind regards,

Mark
The biggest LiveCode group on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/livecode.developers
The book "Programming LiveCode for the Real Beginner"! Get it here! http://tinyurl.com/book-livecode

razvan
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2015 10:16 am

Re: How can I do update of my app?

Post by razvan » Fri May 20, 2016 9:34 am

Thanks Mark that's good ,
I want to share my app on a web page or something like this.In present I have a button for check update in my app and use a link of dropbox but is not so professional this way.

Code: Select all

   if the environment is "mobile" then launch url "https://www.dropbox.com/sh/xxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxxxxxx?dl=0" 
   if the platform is "Win32"  then launch url "https://www.dropbox.com/shxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxx?dl=0" 
   if the platform is "MacOS" then launch url  "https://www.dropbox.com/shxxxxxxxx/xxxxxxxxxx?dl=0"
Regards,
Razvan
Attachments
update.jpg

MaxV
Posts: 1579
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: How can I do update of my app?

Post by MaxV » Fri Jul 22, 2016 1:21 pm

Use this code to download:

Code: Select all

libURLDownloadToFile "ftp://...","Path_to_file_on_harddisk...","downloadComplete"
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: https://livecode-blogger.blogspot.com
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”