Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Deploying to Windows? Utilizing VB Script execution? This is the place to ask Windows-specific questions.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

hcs
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2013 2:25 am

Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by hcs » Sun Oct 20, 2013 12:17 am

I'm wondering if I'm the only one to experience this problem. Editing code in the Windows version of LiveCode 6.1.2, and the Cut/Copy/Paste and Undo functions don't work properly. Undo gets its history mixed up if you try to undo more than a couple of changes, and Cut will delete your selection but not put it into the clipboard. Because LiveCode is (inexplicably) stored as binaries rather than text, I don't have the option of using a more reliable text editor, so this makes for an extremely aggravating editing process. Having to retype whole swathes of code because I forgot that this basic functionality is missing is making LiveCode seem very painful indeed.

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by richmond62 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:27 am

This is one of the reasons various people have been talking about an ability to hook up an external script editor.
LC_gadfly.png

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2718
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by richmond62 » Thu Oct 31, 2013 9:48 am

So, I installed LC 6.1.2 on Windows XP and found something that is a bit odd: according to your posting 'hcs'

"Undo gets its history mixed up if you try to undo more than a couple of changes"

but I found that the script editor does not allow multiple undos.
LC_gadfly.png

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4617
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by jacque » Thu Oct 31, 2013 5:27 pm

I work primarily on Mac, but I can use multiple undos in the script editor. Since it's the same stack on all operating systems, I'd be surprised if it weren't supported on all platforms. There's sometimes a disconnect between the keyboard shortcuts and the menu items though, not only in the script editor but throughout the IDE. What happens if you use the menus directly instead of the keyboard?

I have also seen undo get confused when I use my own custom backscript that inserts characters without the script editor's knowledge -- but I expect that because I'm operating behind its back. Otherwise undo works okay here.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:56 pm

Not sure if it is related, but sometimes even the "set the clipboardData" stops working.
On these occasions, the copy&paste does not work on the windows code editor.

Same issue if I execute the compiled code, sometimes I get an error and it appears to be related with the "set the clipboardData" not working properly.

Is it a bug?

Klaus
Posts: 10327
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by Klaus » Sat Dec 21, 2013 1:09 am

D4vidrim wrote:...sometimes I get an error and it appears to be related with the "set the clipboardData" not working properly.
What error do you get and when?
It MIGHT help if we knew 8)

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Sat Dec 21, 2013 9:42 am

I will post it as soon as I get it again, it's a random error. :|

thank you!

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Mon Dec 23, 2013 10:26 am

Hi,
the error I get is:

execution error at line 376 (set: can't set property) near "dom 27/10 00", char 1

the line is:

Code: Select all

set the clipboarddata to tData
where tData is just a string with some lines of text.

This kind of error happens only when the copy&paste stops working on the editor, otherwise the code works perfectly fine.

By the way, I'have also tried opening the Message Box and execute this simple code:

Code: Select all

set the clipboarddata to "pippo"
I get this error:
Message execution error:
Error description: set: can't set property
Hint: pippo

Hope anyone could find a solution. :(

Klaus
Posts: 10327
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by Klaus » Mon Dec 23, 2013 12:20 pm

Hi David,

hmmm, the dictionary leaves no doubt about the fact the "clipboarddata" is in fact an ARRAY! 8)

So:
...
set the clipboarddata["text"] to "pippo"
...
Should do the trick.


Best

Klaus

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 4617
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by jacque » Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:16 pm

It looks like a bug. I often use "the clipboarddata" without array syntax, because the default is to assume "text". So I suspect the bug is in the loss of the clipboard functionality, though it's good practice to use array syntax anyway.

The biggest problem when reporting it is probably providing a repeatable recipe.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Wed Jun 17, 2015 12:05 am

Unfortunately I still get the same bug... quite often on Windows XP. :cry:

I couldn't find any recipe to re-iterate the bug, it just kind of happens sometimes, then I must close LC and reopen it to make the copy& paste to work again.

Any solution so far?

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:50 pm

Am I the only person who has found this bug?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 6154
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:00 pm

D4vidrim wrote:Unfortunately I still get the same bug... quite often on Windows XP.
Is this reproducible in the latest build of LC, and a supported Windows version?
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Mon Jun 29, 2015 4:59 pm

The bug is still there on LC 7.0.4.
Today I've downloaded the 7.0.5 and in the next days I will check if the bug is still present on the last version of LC.

Unfortunately I've found no way to reproduce it. It happens quite often, but not a clear way to reproduce it.

The standard file dialog for the user to choose a folder stops working at the same time too.

Hope this helps.

Davide

D4vidrim
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 57
Joined: Fri May 31, 2013 9:32 am

Re: Undo, Cut, Paste don't work in Windows Code Editor

Post by D4vidrim » Wed Jul 08, 2015 2:24 pm

Same problem on LC 7.0.5 and Windows XP. :oops:

Post Reply

Return to “Windows”