Plug-in

Are you developing an External using the LiveCode Externals SDK?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
Peter@multidesk.se
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:53 am

Plug-in

Post by Peter@multidesk.se » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:49 pm

How do I build a plug-in for Live code, so that my customers can use my functions and calculations in their own programming without seeing my code.

///Peter
/*Whats all the fuss with c# ?*/

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Plug-in

Post by Thierry » Thu Feb 06, 2014 3:57 pm

Hi Peter,

A plugin, in Livecode's terminology is a stack that is integrated in the IDE.
You can access them via the IDE menu: Development -> Plugins

Is that what you want to do ?

If you want to hide your livecode scripts, well, you can protect the stack
where your code is.

Ummm, only in the business edition of LC.

Regards,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

Peter@multidesk.se
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:53 am

Re: Plug-in

Post by Peter@multidesk.se » Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:39 pm

I have a stack that contains a number of cards that I want my customers to be able to modify the appearance of. They shall have the ability to add graphics, text fields, buttons, and their own code to their personal preference. These modifications may only take place on the cards, and not on the stack. I have all the functions and commands as stack script and want in any way, prevent these to be seen by my clients, who want to customize the application to fit their business.
In brief, I have control of how the app communicates with the database, and how these calls are designed. I have a basic solution on how I think the data is to be used, but the customer can change this on its own.
How can I accomplish this in the best way?

I have the Business Edition of LC.

///Peter
/*Whats all the fuss with c# ?*/

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Plug-in

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 07, 2014 7:41 am

Hi Peter,

Check
start using stack "mylibrary"
in the dictionnary.

and you can set a password to your stack..

Does that make sense?

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

Peter@multidesk.se
Posts: 136
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 6:53 am

Re: Plug-in

Post by Peter@multidesk.se » Fri Feb 07, 2014 10:45 am

How does that work when I build a stand-alone, for example, iOS or Android?
Somehow I have to implement the first stack script with my standalone for this to work.

/ Peter
/*Whats all the fuss with c# ?*/

Thierry
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:42 pm

Re: Plug-in

Post by Thierry » Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:25 am

Peter@multidesk.se wrote:How does that work when I build a stand-alone, for example, iOS or Android?
Somehow I have to implement the first stack script with my standalone for this to work.
When preparing the build settings you can add stacks to your main stack.

Don't see any problems but may be I'm missing the point..

Regards,

Thierry
!
SUNNY-TDZ.COM doesn't belong to me since 2021.
To contact me, use the Private messages. Merci.
!

Simon
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3901
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2007 2:54 am
Location: Palo Alto

Re: Plug-in

Post by Simon » Fri Feb 07, 2014 9:16 pm

Hi Peter,
Why don't you check out how mobGUI does it?
John's stack is added as a sub-stack with the "start using" placed in the main stack.

Simon
I used to be a newbie but then I learned how to spell teh correctly and now I'm a noob!

Post Reply

Return to “Building Externals”