MergMK Help

Interested adding compiled externals from LiveCode and third parties to your LiveCode projects? This is the place to talk about them.

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

TheBlackKnight

MergMK Help

Post by TheBlackKnight » Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:45 pm

Hello,
Sorry this may seem like a dumb question, I'm relatively new to Livecode and am trying to make an app that involves a map, and I plan on using the mergMK extension.
I have looked at the mergext website for help, but it doesn't really explain how to create the map, which is my main problem.
If someone could show me some example code to get me started or explain it to me, that would be greatly appreciated!!
Thanks

Dixie
Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: MergMK Help

Post by Dixie » Tue Feb 07, 2017 10:34 pm

In the mergMK folder there is a document that explains all the commands used by mergMK to create a map...

TheBlackKnight

Post by TheBlackKnight » Wed Feb 08, 2017 3:53 am

Yes I read this, and tried to understand it, however when I tried the example code/ my own code to create the map it did not work at all.
My code was:

command mergMKCreate

mergMKSet "rect", the rect of graphic "map"
mergMKSet "visible", true

map is just a rectangle named "map"
I am not great with commands yet, so this is where I probably went wrong or just the whole script is wrong :(
Thanks for replying and for any help!

Dixie

Post by Dixie » Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:53 am

There is a stack attached that will display a map using mergMK... that should get you going.. don't forget to select mergMK in 'inclusions' from withing the standalone settings... scripts are in the stack and the card...

dixie
Attachments
maptest.livecode.zip
(2.11 KiB) Downloaded 481 times

TheBlackKnight

Post by TheBlackKnight » Mon Feb 13, 2017 9:27 pm

Hi Dixie,

Thank you so much for the example code! I really appreciate it, I think I understand the general idea now.