Interface with BIOPAC system

Interested adding externals/plugins from LiveCode and third parties to your LiveCode projects? This is the place to talk about them.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Interface with BIOPAC system

Postby starfirescully » Tue May 23, 2017 4:30 pm

Hello everyone,

I wanted to know whether LIVECODE has the ability to interface with the BIOPAC system for recording skin conductance responses. If anyone knows anything, or knows where I can look for resources, please let me know.

Thanks!
starfirescully
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Interface with BIOPAC system

Postby FourthWorld » Tue May 23, 2017 4:52 pm

BIOPAC offers a scripting interface:
https://www.biopac.com/scripts/

I would imagine you could trigger those scripts with LiveCode Script's shell function, no?

If you need lower-level access, such as to any C++ APIs BIOPAC may also offer, you should be able to address those with LiveCode Builder.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5308
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Interface with BIOPAC system

Postby starfirescully » Tue Sep 05, 2017 2:37 pm

The BIOPAC scripting interface is within the BIOPAC software itself, not for communication between presentation software and BIOPAC. Thank you for your suggestion though.

I need to be able to interface Livecode and BIOPAC from separate computers. I need to be able to have Livecode send a message to the BIOPAC software telling the software to set an event mark in the data.
starfirescully
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2014 2:35 pm

Re: Interface with BIOPAC system

Postby mrcoollion » Tue Sep 05, 2017 3:56 pm

mrcoollion
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2014 1:49 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Interface with BIOPAC system

Postby FourthWorld » Tue Sep 05, 2017 4:22 pm

starfirescully wrote:The BIOPAC scripting interface is within the BIOPAC software itself, not for communication between presentation software and BIOPAC. Thank you for your suggestion though.

I need to be able to interface Livecode and BIOPAC from separate computers. I need to be able to have Livecode send a message to the BIOPAC software telling the software to set an event mark in the data.

If BIOPAC offers no network access then some form of that would need to be added to the system. Would it be practical to use Apache, with PHP, LiveCode, Perl, or some other middleware that manages the requests and obtains what it needs from BIOPAC for the reply?

If this is on a local (and trusted) network you might even be able to mod the libHTTPd now included with LC v9 to provide a simple HTTP-based API.
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/
FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
 
Posts: 5308
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Using Externals and Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest