Question about licensing

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
ronniebellie
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Jun 26, 2015 6:17 pm

Question about licensing

Post by ronniebellie » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:42 pm

I bought the live code Indy license last summer ($499). Now I'm learning that this license will not include HTHL 5 deployment in v. 8 of Livecode. One of the reasons I dished out that much money was because of this feature.

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1694
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Question about licensing

Post by [-hh] » Fri Apr 15, 2016 5:25 pm

In case "deploy" means here to create HTML5-standalones:
This is possible in ANY version of LC 8, also community version
.***

The difference is the license that is connected to the standalone.
These question may better be answered by the LC support:
https://livecode.com/resources/support/ask-a-question/

*** Edit. Sorry, after Joel's post I have to correct:
This is possible in the community version or with Indy+HTML5 license.
(I don't know anything about business license).
Last edited by [-hh] on Mon May 16, 2016 12:32 am, edited 2 times in total.
shiftLock happens

joel.epsteinBUS31vi
Posts: 135
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:25 pm

Re: Question about licensing

Post by joel.epsteinBUS31vi » Sun May 15, 2016 11:25 pm

I have a follow-up question:

I have an Indy license. When I try to save standalone as HTML5, I get a message stating that my license doesn't include HTML5 deployment entitlement and presents a button to "buy now."

Do I really need to buy this - because I thought HTML5 deployment is now included in Indy.

Thanks.

Joel

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1694
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Question about licensing

Post by [-hh] » Mon May 16, 2016 12:24 am

Joel wrote:Do I really need to buy this - because I thought HTML5 deployment is now included in Indy.
No. It's not included. This question was answered by Kevin with "NO" in the use-list.

I you wish to "deploy" without HTML5 license you have to use the community version .

I really don't know for what this license entitles (besides hiding the download icon). I didn't care until now, I bought it ONLY in order to support LC's HTML5 development.

Please ask LC's support and report us here, if you know more.

Hermann
shiftLock happens

Post Reply

Return to “HTML5”