Successful test

Bringing your stacks to the web

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Successful test

Post by [-hh] » Tue Sep 01, 2015 12:58 am

Whoever wishes to try standalone examples may have a look
HERE (EU) or (same content) HERE (US).

See also this post for info on and usage of the input stacks.

More testing by community members.
Richard's WebApps
Malte's AE first-test
Bernd's "little webapps"
Dixie's examples

I removed below a lot of (now useless or 'misleading') posts to early versions of the HTML5 standalone.
Last edited by [-hh] on Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:27 am, edited 18 times in total.
shiftLock happens

acidjazz
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 93
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 2:37 am
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: Successful test

Post by acidjazz » Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:00 am

Not quite sure what you're saying to do with Python, but if you opening the html file the "old fashioned" way (by double clicking) I got the dreaded "exception thrown" error using Chrome 44.0.2403.107 (64-bit)

Works great in Safari.
Works great in Firefox.

- Mark

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Successful test

Post by peter-b » Tue Sep 01, 2015 6:37 am

As explained in the HTML5 deployment guide, Chrome won't let you run an HTML5 standalone from the local filesystem. You need to put it on a server or run a basic HTTP server on your workstation (that's what Python JD being used for). If you don't, Chrome will get upset - hence the exception.
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Successful test

Post by peter-b » Tue Sep 01, 2015 11:39 am

[-hh] wrote: This does NOT yet work (the first two let crash the engine, you have to reload the webpage).
  • Changing stack window size.
  • Option menus.
  • Textstyle setting (italic).
  • Clicks on the prefs group in fullscreen mode.
In general, I need for (speed of) mouse clicking in the canvas some exercise/ trials or simply patience.
What I currently miss most is an at least basic set of default cursors. Up to now we have only an iBeam cursor (setting a different cursor/ defaultcursor doesn't work).
Hi! Awesome demo! :D Thank you very much for your positive feedback -- let me assure you that it's really appreciated.

Could you possibly file bug reports and/or feature requests for all of the above? I can't guarantee that we'll be able to fix all of them immediately, but it will help us ensure that they are not forgotten.

Thanks!
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Successful test

Post by peter-b » Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:23 am

Oh wow, Hermann, that is ridiculously nice. :mrgreen:

I will showcase this in the next This Week in LiveCode newsletter, if that's okay?
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Re: Successful test

Post by malte » Wed Nov 18, 2015 7:55 am

Hermann, I must admit I only now got around to look at your examples. It appears to load much faster than the previous versions? Also how did you create the very nice different progress indicators for download? This is really cool!

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Successful test

Post by [-hh] » Wed Nov 18, 2015 12:07 pm

Moin Malte,

...
The loading animation is really cool. It's high quality open source (CSS theme and clever js from top developers): http://github.hubspot.com/pace/
...

Hermann
Last edited by [-hh] on Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:15 am, edited 3 times in total.
shiftLock happens

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Successful test

Post by [-hh] » Wed Nov 18, 2015 3:52 pm

'Copy/Paste Text'-Test.

With the HTML5-standalone builder it is currently not possible to access the clipboardData/ fullClipboardData/ raw ClipboardData.
I now found a primitive way to do this, so you can (for somehow advanced users) import to/export from your standalone even large PLAIN TEXT chunks.

The problem: In most browsers (especially Safari) large text chunks for dialogs are cut to a small maximal length (NOT: in Firefox) and CR is replaced by space.

To have a cross-browser solution we use a 'replacement'-char or 'replacement'-string (not containing CR) for CR. That's why we need 'advanced' users for that primitive copy/paste-method.

This is the method used:

INPUT/PASTE

Code: Select all

ask "Please paste your text" & cr &"[CR is replaced with space by system]" &cr& \
        "[and I'll replace <user string> by CR]" with "I wear a kilt"
if it is not empty then replace <user string> with CR in it
put it into fld 1
OUTPUT/COPY

Code: Select all

put fld 2 into ft; replace cr with <user string> in ft
ask "Please copy the text by Ctrl-C/Cmd-C" &cr& \
        "[You now have to replace <user string> with CR]" with ft
It's a primitive workaround, yes ...
Last edited by [-hh] on Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

capellan
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 11:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Successful test

Post by capellan » Sat Nov 21, 2015 9:34 pm

Hi Hermann,
[-hh] wrote:A HTML5-version of "KrikelKrakel (SmoothDraw)".
Really nice! :-D

By the way, check if you could use some ideas from this stack
http://andregarzia.on-rev.com/alejandro ... orithm.zip

This stack implements two polygon smoothing algorithms:
Chaikin and Shemanarev

Alejandro

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Successful test

Post by peter-b » Tue Dec 01, 2015 10:50 am

Hi Hermann, I honestly have no idea why these things are not working. As far as I know, they should not have changed between DP 9 and DP 10! I'm as puzzled as you are.

Please make sure that there are bug reports for the issues you encounter, so that I have some chance of keeping track of what is not working...

Many thanks -- and sorry for the disappointment. :(
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

SparkOut
Posts: 1741
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 4:58 pm

Re: Successful test

Post by SparkOut » Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:12 am

Hi Hermann, just a quick thought, have you tried emptying the cache and resetting its source? I think you have been trying to get loading times down by controlling some of this, maybe dp10 has something slightly different in the source that needs to be changed in the cache?

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Successful test

Post by [-hh] » Wed Dec 02, 2015 12:26 pm

Hi 'SparkOut',

good hint to have that in mind. Cache is often trying to fool users (also me).

...
Last edited by [-hh] on Thu Jan 14, 2016 3:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
shiftLock happens

malte
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 8:34 pm
Location: Ostenfeld germany
Contact:

Re: Successful test

Post by malte » Wed Dec 02, 2015 4:51 pm

Good catch Hermann!

Dixie
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1336
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 10:53 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Re: Successful test

Post by Dixie » Mon Dec 14, 2015 5:49 am

I have been waiting for liveCode HTML5 to be able to run a stack that used to run well in the days of the 'plug-in'... This stack harks back to 2009..:-) In LC8(dp11) is now will run, it has not prior to this release, it was just throwing exceptions...:-( It runs smoothly in the IDE, but suffers from the 'stutters' running as an HTML5 stack... Still, to my mind it just shows the continued improvements to liveCode HTML5 are making.... I just thought I would throw it out here for those interested in getting things running in liveCode HTML5 to see...

(If you try it... 'click' on the logo in the bottom left of the stack to start a new game)
Attachments
Link 4.livecode.zip
(191.58 KiB) Downloaded 86 times

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1686
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Successful test

Post by [-hh] » Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:13 am

Hi John,

which OS and LC version do you use?

I tried on MacOS 10.11.2 and couldn't even open your stack in freshly installed IDEs of dp11, not in community version nor in Indy version. Alert is: 'Unable to open stack.'

Your (nice) stacks runs well in the dp9 IDE but doesnt't compile here to HTML5, throws exception -12, as you say.

Hermann
shiftLock happens

Post Reply

Return to “HTML5”