Importing from an SQL database into a table field

Creating desktop or client-server database solutions?

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
Mikofig
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:00 pm

Importing from an SQL database into a table field

Post by Mikofig » Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:43 pm

I have been trying to import rows from a database into a table in order to create a scoreboard. I have managed to import the data but it only gets displayed in one row of the table rather than two rows even though I specified a return after the data.


I have a field (Searchvalues) that contains the search value as a test and the query returns two rows as it should. This is probably not the best way of doing it so any tips would be much appreaciated

Code: Select all

put "SELECT * FROM `scores` WHERE username LIKE '%" & line 1 of field "Searchvalues" & "%' OR Hero LIKE '%" & line 1 of field "Searchvalues" &"%'" into tSQL
   put revDataFromQuery(tab,tab, gConnectionID, tSQL) & return after field "scores"

Klaus
Posts: 10971
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Importing from an SQL database into a table field

Post by Klaus » Thu Mar 07, 2019 3:51 pm

Hi Mikofig,

well no wonder if you define also a TAB for the line delimiter:

Code: Select all

...
put "SELECT * FROM `scores` WHERE username LIKE '%" & line 1 of field "Searchvalues" & "%' OR Hero LIKE '%" & line 1 of field "Searchvalues" &"%'" into tSQL
## put revDataFromQuery(tab,tab, gConnectionID, tSQL) & return after field "scores"
put revDataFromQuery(tab,CR, gConnectionID, tSQL) & return after field "scores"
...
Best

Klaus

Mikofig
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2019 3:00 pm

Re: Importing from an SQL database into a table field

Post by Mikofig » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:08 pm

Thank you very much Klaus, that worked as intended. Though how does the use of CR fix the issue?

Klaus
Posts: 10971
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Importing from an SQL database into a table field

Post by Klaus » Thu Mar 07, 2019 4:28 pm

These two parameters TAB and CR tell LC to separate the database fields with a TAB and each record with a CR, so you get one record per line!

Please lookup "revDataFromQuery()" in the dictionary for further infos.
It is important that you fully understand what you are doing! 8)

Post Reply

Return to “Databases”