Decoding encrypted data emailed from a server

Bringing the internet highway into your project? Building FTP, HTTP, email, chat or other client solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

trags3

Decoding encrypted data emailed from a server

Post by trags3 » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:27 pm

I have an app that sends data including a txt file to a server using the Post command.
The server takes some of the data ie email addresses, subject & message and uses it to send via email to the appropriate email addresses the txt file.
The txt file contains information that should be encrypted.
I have never worked with encryption before and don't quite understand how to decrypt when the file reaches the final email inbox.

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer

Re: Decoding encrypted data emailed from a server

Post by jacque » Sat Oct 22, 2016 5:04 pm

Once the email is sent you have no control over it any more. I have seen sensitive documents sent as password protected PDF enclosures. The password is generally sent in a separate email.

Large companies like financial institutions usually send an email informing you there is a message waiting and ask you to log into your account to retrieve it.

Email is inherently insecure.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

trags3

Post by trags3 » Sat Oct 22, 2016 5:16 pm

Thank you Jacque,
That helps. I think I can figure out a solution from this.

Tom

lilRalph

Post by lilRalph » Mon Oct 24, 2016 8:50 am

G'Day Tom,

I have just been exploring something similar to this myself. I agree with Jacque that the best solution if you have to send to multiple email addresses is to just notify them that there is a message for them.

If you are only sending to a small number then there is another option using public/private keys.