URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Bringing the internet highway into your project? Building FTP, HTTP, email, chat or other client solutions?

Moderators: FourthWorld, heatherlaine, Klaus, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
aircooled76
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:14 pm

URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Post by aircooled76 » Wed Nov 11, 2015 9:54 am

Hi Guys,

I have built a scoreboard controller that pulls statistics from a Google Docs Stats Sheet url. The game it is intended for starts in 10 minutes.

My code works fine in my livecode installation that I programmed it in:

test code:

field T2StatURL

Code: Select all

on mouseUp
   
      put 2 into myVar
   
   answer url field "T2StatUrl"
   put url field "T2StatUrl" into statcsv
   put line myVar of statcsv into tline
   answer tline
   
   
   
   
end mouseUp
But when I make a stand alone application the code fails and returns blank values... Happens both on Mac and Windows apps...

Any ideas how I can make this work ASAP?

Thanks

Mike

aircooled76
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Post by aircooled76 » Wed Nov 11, 2015 11:04 am

OK it looks like I am getting an error
error socket is not open.
Any ideas how to fix?

aircooled76
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Post by aircooled76 » Wed Nov 11, 2015 3:36 pm

I tried to use code to open port 443 (https port)

Code: Select all

open socket to "443" with message "clientConnected"
Still did not work. Is this a bug in LiveCode?

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 9823
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Post by FourthWorld » Wed Nov 11, 2015 4:57 pm

The "S" in "HTTPS" is for "secure" - try "open secure socket...."
Richard Gaskin
LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems
LiveCode Group on Facebook
LiveCode Group on LinkedIn

aircooled76
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon May 20, 2013 3:14 pm

Re: URGENT HELP with accessing URL from livecode app

Post by aircooled76 » Thu Nov 12, 2015 5:47 am

Hi Guys,

that fixed the problem... thanks FourthWorld... your a champ...

Code: Select all

open secure socket to "443" with message "clientConnected"
Any reason that this works with LiveCode when developing and testing but not when it is stand alone?

Post Reply

Return to “Internet”