are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Bringing the internet highway into your project? Building FTP, HTTP, email, chat or other client solutions?

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

kresten
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:01 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by kresten » Tue Feb 13, 2018 3:49 pm

As I read it MWieders instructions seems to refer to already installed versions. My problem is how to make the installer to install.
I will be grateful if bogs will try to instruct precisely.
The file is LiveCodeCommunityInstaller-8_1_9-linux.x86
It is presently on my desktop.
I copied it to a folder, which was baptised as LC.tar.gz But no luck with that.
:? :cry:

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2672
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by mwieder » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:23 pm

Yes, I thought you had this already installed. I see you are trying to install the 32-bit version. Is that on purpose? Do you really need the 32-bit rather than 64-bit version, i.e., are you using a 32-bit linux?

If you're running a 64-bit linux then you should download and install the 64-bit build, otherwise there are a number of prerequisite libraries you will need to install first (multiarch or ia32lib, but I wouldn't go that route unless you really need to).

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2672
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by mwieder » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:27 pm

MaxV-

Yes, the sqlite thing is a known error - it looks like you're trying to open the dictionary there.
The gdk_window_move_resize_internal error is indeed what I see with any browser widget when switching from edit mode to browse mode.

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:28 pm

From this post of yours, I got that your using 16.0.4, do you know if your using the 32bit or 64bit version?
kresten wrote:
Fri Feb 02, 2018 1:21 pm
I succeeded installing lubuntu 16.0.4, and downloading an LC for linux
The question pertains to which version of Lc your trying to install, in this case "8_1_9-linux.x86" is the 32bit version. To do the install, I want to make sure I am working in the exact version of lubuntu your using with exactly the same installer.

Look forward to hearing from you :)

I see mwieder chimed in as well, and what he points out is why I am asking. I regularly use multiarch, which replaced ia-32lib, since I still develop for 32bit platforms a lot. I am also guessing this is contributing to your problems, but we'll work through all that.
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2672
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by mwieder » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:35 pm

bogs-

as an aside, you can create 32-bit standalone apps for linux on 64-bit systems. There's a checkbox for that on the standalone builder preferences page (a checkbox for "linux" and one for "linux x64").

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Tue Feb 13, 2018 5:46 pm

That is absolutely true, the reason I use multiarch when I am on a 64bit system is for testing what I've built as I build it without having to turn to a vm to do it. I also use multiarch on 32bit systems in reverse to test 64bit (my current dev. processors are all 64bit, so the flow works fine, but I often use 32bit distros because they seem to run faster (benchmarked, not just my imagination)) :D

*Edit - It probably goes without saying (but I will heh), all the Lc IDEs I use most often don't have the facility to turn out 64bit, that didn't start till 7.x, and I'm usually well below that version, often Mc2.6. I will probably (at some point) be looking into using Mc2.6 and a later than Lc6.x engine to generate 64bit, but that is very long term from here due to various distractions...SQUIRREL!!! :shock:
Image

kresten
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:01 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by kresten » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:00 am

How can I find out, wether I am running 32 bit or 64 bit ?

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Wed Feb 14, 2018 12:14 am

uname -r will usually do it.
Selection_003.png
Selection_003.png (6.85 KiB) Viewed 404 times
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2672
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by mwieder » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:44 am

Although note that on my system 'uname -r' just says '4.4.0-111-generic'
but 'uname -p' properly shows 'x86_64'.

If in doubt 'uname --help' will show the available options

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:20 am

Just curious, what does uname -a give you mwieder? If I had been thinking properly, it is probably what I should have put in first.
Selection_003.png
Image

mwieder
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2672
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:36 am
Location: Berkeley, CA, US
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by mwieder » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:35 am

My uname -a is unsurprisingly similar to yours (with the exception of your missing -p and -i):

Linux castor 4.4.0-111-generic #134~14.04.1-Ubuntu SMP Mon Jan 15 15:39:56 UTC 2018 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Curious - what does 'uname --version' give you? Here's mine:

uname (GNU coreutils) 8.21

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Wed Feb 14, 2018 3:51 am

This is a Linux Mint Debian Edition 2 box running Jessie (I prefer wheezy, so not too sure how long I'll run it as is :) )
terminal command wrote: bogs@linmat2 ~ $ uname --version
uname (GNU coreutils) 8.23
Copyright (C) 2014 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>.
This is free software: you are free to change and redistribute it.
There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Written by David MacKenzie.
Yah, it isn't too surprising to me, either. I think that and cat are the two I use most often. Like I said, I should have led with it :)
Image

kresten
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:01 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by kresten » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:29 pm

kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$ uname -r
4.4.0-112-generic
kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$ ^C
kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$
This doesnt seem to give the information.
But I can see that the commercial v7 installer, which suceeded also has an x86 in its title, if that is relevant.
:?

kresten
Posts: 120
Joined: Tue Sep 30, 2008 3:01 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by kresten » Wed Feb 14, 2018 1:39 pm

Tried Mwieders solution, but alas>
kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$ uname -p
athlon
kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$ ^C
kresten@kresten-Pavilion-zv5200-PR977EA-ABY:~$
:?

bogs
Posts: 1722
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: are there attempts to develop a revBrowser compatible with Linux ?

Post by bogs » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:00 pm

Well, we know your running an amd chip, but unless its the first gen it could still be either 32bit or 64.

Kresten, at the command line type

Code: Select all

uname -a
and then put the result here.
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Internet”