Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

If you find an issue in LiveCode but are having difficulty pinning down a reliable recipe or want to sanity-check your findings with others, this is the place.

Please have one thread per issue, and try to summarize the issue concisely in the thread title so others can find related issues here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Wed Nov 08, 2017 9:51 pm

Hi,

i noticed some Paint confusion when consulting the Dictionary:

Command or Function--------------------------Platforms
Set the brush to 13-----------------------------All
Set the Eraser to 15----------------------------All
tool (as a function)-----------------------------All
Set the tool to "brush tool" -------------------All (but does not work on mobile)
Set the tool to "pencil tool"------------------ All (works on mobile)
Set the tool to "eraser tool" -------------All (does not work on mobile)
Choose toolName tool -------------------mac-win-lin
Choose Pencil tool --------------------------mac-win-lin (but works on mobile)
Choose Brush tool -------------------------- mac-win-lin (does not work on mobile)

Few questions:
Can anyone also confirm that Brush does not work on mobile(Android)?

According the Dictionary --> Choose tool is equivalent to Set the tool to
So why is the Set form for All platforms and Choose only for Desktops?


Tested with lc8.1.7 stable
Just using set the tool to "brush" in a simple mousedown handler

Code: Select all

on mousedown
set the tool to "brush tool"
end mousedown
(of course you can set image or color but neither work with brush on mobile)
Thanks for any clearance on this.

(and of course, i could be doing it all wrong...) and if not i might file a bug report.
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

MaxV
Posts: 1354
Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 2:20 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by MaxV » Thu Nov 09, 2017 3:27 pm

What do you want to do on mobile?
Livecode Wiki: http://livecode.wikia.com
My blog: http://livecodeitalia.blogspot.it
To post code use this: http://tinyurl.com/ogp6d5w

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:44 pm

i want to draw and anotate and erase.
Which can be done in the ide and on desktop.
But it would be great if it worked as supposed on mobile too.
It's seems not to work as described in the dictionary.
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

FourthWorld
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 5462
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 7:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Contact:

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by FourthWorld » Thu Nov 09, 2017 9:11 pm

You may find better results and perhaps more fun using graphic objects instead. You can do pretty much anything with those you can do with paint, but you can then move them around, relayer them, color them, change their line size, etc.

There's code somewhere here in the forums for a nice way to track mouse/finger drags to build up a curve polygon....
Richard Gaskin
Community volunteer LiveCode Community Liaison

LiveCode development, training, and consulting services: Fourth World Systems: http://FourthWorld.com
LiveCode User Group on Facebook : http://FaceBook.com/groups/LiveCodeUsers/

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:07 pm

yes indeed, i've found some made by Bernd if i'm correct.
but it also has pros and cons, so i now have an image and over that image is an empty image on which i draw.
also a few defined objects to move around and i change the layer of the images with the 'draw'image so when needed i can move the little images and when i want to draw the layer is changing so i can draw or erase again. works nice on desktop but not on mobile. i use the brush on desktop.
So i was searching why it did not work ok and then i found this confusion, so i wrote it down.

But maybe there is still a bug why it does not work on mobile.
thanks for your suggestion
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3978
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by jacque » Sat Nov 11, 2017 5:16 pm

I'm guessing the brush doesn't work on mobile because in LC it relies on setting the cursor to an image. There's no cursor on mobile of course.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Sat Nov 11, 2017 9:04 pm

Yes indeed you're right. Normally you don't see a cursor, so if it's not there then you can't change it. Makes sense.

Still isn't it so that the description of platforms is then not correct or is the way to approach it wrong?

Maybe the best is i file a bug report and link to this thread to get a clearance on it from the devs? what do you think?
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3978
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by jacque » Sun Nov 12, 2017 5:31 pm

Yes, if you report it the team can decide whether it's a bug in the engine or just a documentation error.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Sun Nov 12, 2017 6:07 pm

Good point, thanks Jacque.

bug report made:
http://quality.livecode.com/show_bug.cgi?id=20667
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

jacque
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 3978
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:31 pm
Location: Minneapolis MN
Contact:

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by jacque » Mon Nov 13, 2017 6:24 pm

I see it's already been answered. Looks like you just need to provide an image in the stack that the brush can use.
Jacqueline Landman Gay | jacque at hyperactivesw dot com
HyperActive Software | http://www.hyperactivesw.com

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Mon Nov 13, 2017 8:00 pm

I made a little round dot image to test with, this works ok.
Have to do some further testing.
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:42 pm

ok i admit it (again)...i'm stupid...i should read further than my nose is long we say in Holland... :evil: :oops:
i simply forgot to read and do this:

If you want to change the brush property in a standalone application--for example, to let the user paint in images--you must copy the stack "revCompatibilityBrushes1" into your application before you build the standalone. (This stack includes the cursors used for the brush tool.) To copy the stack, enter the following into the message box or a handler :

clone stack "revCompatibilityBrushes1"
set the mainStack of this stack to "My Main Stack"
-- (substitute your application's main stack name
A copy of "revCompatibilityBrushes1" is now a substack of your main stack, and will be saved in the stack file the next time you save the main stack.

So without it or without own images, there is no brush available.
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

bogs
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:40 am

sphere wrote:
Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:42 pm
ok i admit it (again)...i'm stupid...
Sorry, I just don't see it that way. You *did* finally figure it out, and actually produced a second way to do it. Not 'stupid' in my book.
ImageImage

sphere
Posts: 474
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:32 am
Location: the Netherlands

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by sphere » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:01 pm

Thanks Bogs, you made my day :D
Global Market Share WorldWide Android 84.82%
Global Market Share WorldWide iOs 12%

Just a wild guess that we need more support and features for Android than iOs...

bogs
Posts: 720
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Paint confusion on mobile(Android)

Post by bogs » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:02 pm

sphere wrote:
Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:01 pm
Thanks Bogs, you made my day :D
You may kindly donate to the 'Bogs made me feel ok' fund for programmers that are way too hard on themselves :twisted:
ImageImage

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Triage”