Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

If you find an issue in LiveCode but are having difficulty pinning down a reliable recipe or want to sanity-check your findings with others, this is the place.

Please have one thread per issue, and try to summarize the issue concisely in the thread title so others can find related issues here.

Moderators: Klaus, FourthWorld, heatherlaine, kevinmiller, robinmiller

Post Reply
gmccarthy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:56 am
Location: Australia

Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

Post by gmccarthy » Sat May 07, 2016 10:10 pm

Is anyone else experiencing a problem trying to paste into excel from LC8?
No problems pasting same clipboard text to other programs.
gmcrev

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

Post by peter-b » Mon May 09, 2016 2:27 pm

Could you describe the problem in more detail, please? It'll make it easier for people to check whether they're running into the same issue that you are! :)
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

gmccarthy
Posts: 56
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 4:56 am
Location: Australia

Re: Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

Post by gmccarthy » Mon May 09, 2016 2:42 pm

The error ("Microsoft Excel cannot paste the data") occurs when I copy any text to the clipboard as text in LC8 the attempt to paste it in an excel spreadsheet. The paste text button in excel on the toolbar is also dimmed indicating that I cannot paste text. Only paste special works. I have to paste special in excel and choose text or html or unicode. All of these work as expected if set as the clipboard type.

In LC 7.1.3 I did not have to do this. I could directly paste text from the clipboard into excel instead of having to use paste special.
gmcrev

peter-b
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2014 2:14 pm
Location: LiveCode Ltd.

Re: Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

Post by peter-b » Fri May 13, 2016 8:47 am

Oh dear. Could you please file a bug report for us? I'll add it to my collection of clipboard bugs. Thanks!
LiveCode Open Source Team — @PeterTBBrett — peter.brett@livecode.com

Jim Mac
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:22 pm

Re: Error message in Excel when trying to paste from LC 8

Post by Jim Mac » Tue Nov 29, 2016 9:48 pm

Curious if this is being addressed. I'm having the same issue and behavior w/ LC Community 8.1 on Win 7?

Post Reply

Return to “Bug Triage”