Take a picture with Webcam

Visuals, audio, animation. Blended, not stirred. If LiveCode is part of your rich media production toolbox, this is the forum for you.

Moderators: heatherlaine, Klaus, FourthWorld, robinmiller, kevinmiller

Post Reply
StevenCollins2018
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:25 am

Take a picture with Webcam

Post by StevenCollins2018 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:34 am

Everything that takes pictures with a Mac connected USB Webcam is breaking down or locked out. Livecodes VideoGrab and all, Camspinner (my old go-to), Automator (can't talk to builtin or Webcams), AppleScript (noting for it to tell to take a picture that works). Is there anything that works for pre and post QT kill that I can talk to or embed in my LiveCode app? (This Mac fanatic sure is tired of Apple killing stuff to look cool.)

[-hh]
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
VIP Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 1695
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:52 pm
Location: Göttingen, DE

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by [-hh] » Thu Jan 04, 2018 5:33 pm

There is, since LC 7.1, cameraControl (mac, windows, ios, android).
You need an Indy license for that.

I have also made a stack "poor mans webcam" that allows to display snapshots (15 FPS) from 1-2 webcams on mac/win/linux using LC 6/7/8/9. Uses (embedded) external resources. To appear in January 2018.
shiftLock happens

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2602
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:49 pm

Indeed: NOT in the community version:
Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 7.47.59 pm.png
So next time someone tells you the ONLY difference between the Free and the Pay versions is
the ability to password your stacks you can say "Blurrrrrgh" to them.

bogs
Posts: 1925
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:06 pm

I'm a bit confused about that, since the dictionary entry for the video grab stuff (that is available in the oss vers., right?) says -
Dictionary wrote: The revVideoGrabDialog command is part of the Video library. To ensure that the command works in a standalone application, you must include this custom library when you create your standalone.
and of course, under that library definition it says -
Video library
Definition:
The LiveCode custom library that supports video capture from a camera or other video input device.
That means it would have to be part of the Oss edition, doesn't it? Is it somehow gimped?
richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 6:49 pm
"Blurrrrrgh"
As an aside, I have made this my word of the day.
Image

richmond62
Livecode Opensource Backer
Livecode Opensource Backer
Posts: 2602
Joined: Fri Feb 19, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Bulgaria
Contact:

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by richmond62 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:26 pm

In the LC 7.1.4 Dictionary it states that revVideoGrabDialog

"Displays a dialog box for configuring QuickTime or Video for Windows video capture."

So that premisses that Quicktime or Video for Windows is present on a computer that wishes to leverage that.

I suspect that cameraControl works in a way that is independent of either Quicktime or Video for Windows.

The LC 9.0.0 Dictionary states what I was beginning to suspect:
Screen Shot 2018-01-04 at 9.23.45 pm.png
Or: "revVideoGrab is going 'all funny' folks."

bogs
Posts: 1925
Joined: Sat Feb 25, 2017 10:45 pm

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by bogs » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:07 pm

richmond62 wrote:
Thu Jan 04, 2018 8:26 pm
In the LC 7.1.4 Dictionary it states that revVideoGrabDialog
"Displays a dialog box for configuring QuickTime or Video for Windows video capture."
Yes, but the point I was trying for (but obviously missed) was that it uses the library that Lc has for capturing from cameras. I was not suggesting that the revVideo commands were the solution (although if he has a camera image on the desktop, I suppose it is possible), I was saying the library is there that the camera grab uses. Perhaps that could be put to use.

"Blurrrrrgh" ! :D
Image

Klaus
Posts: 10171
Joined: Sat Apr 08, 2006 8:41 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Take a picture with Webcam

Post by Klaus » Thu Jan 04, 2018 9:32 pm

Please check the (not so) new "cameraControl..." commands in the dictionary!
Could not test these so far due to the fact that I do not own a webcam or something...

Post Reply

Return to “Rich Media”